Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 26th June 2009, 06:19 AM
GoinEasy9 Offline

kmod to akmod -question

I have two kernels in my new fedora 11 install:
kernel-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i586
kernel-2.6.29.5-191.fc11.i586
The 2.6.29.4-167 kernel has the nvidia driver installed using kmod-nvidia. Since I'm new to fedora I just used the method I came upon in the how-to before realizing the advantages of akmod-nvidia. What I would like to do is remove the kmod-nvidia module and install the akmod-nvidia module before I install the nvidia drivers to the new kernel.
Is it as easy as rpm -e kmod-nvidia and rpm -i akmod-nvidia? Or am I missing some steps?
Coming from Debian, I'm still trying to get used to rpm and Fedora's modules and meta-packages, so, if someone could give me a hand, I'd appreciate it.
My first nvidia driver install gave me the i586 kernel, since I wasn't aware of the PAE kernel and the need for separate drivers. I want to avoid surprises this time. I removed the PAE kernels since I have no need for them, and am just using the i586 kernels now.
After installing akmod-nvidia, do I have to reinstall xorg-x11-drivers for that kernel, or are the ones there for the older kernel the correct ones? Should I be removing more of the old driver files?
Thanks for your help in advance.
Registered Linux User #348347
Have you been seduced by siduction? http://siduction.org/index.php
Running Fedora 19/20, siduction and openSUSE 13.1 with KDE
Old 26th June 2009, 07:10 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator