Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 4th July 2009, 11:56 PM
HMSS013 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 511
Broadcom / Feodra 11

su -c 'yum -y install broadcom-wl'

has always worked for me... but that hasn't been the case with Fedora 11...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th July 2009, 12:07 AM
HMSS013 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 511
Fresh Install... Wired Network Fully Functional... RPM Fusion Properly Enabled.

the command resolves... Network Manager confirms that the device is not present upon reboot.

Last edited by HMSS013; 5th July 2009 at 12:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th July 2009, 02:16 AM
NoEffex Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 299
I think you have to install some sort of kmod.

yum install kmod-wl
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 CPU (2.66 GHz)
3gb RAM
500GB HD
Debian Lenny x86_64 & Windows 7 Ultimate x64
NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GTX+ Superclocked - Fattypack

Second(Server) PC:
512mb RAM
80gb TiVO HD(Lololol, took it from TiVO, old one broke)
PC-BSD 7.1.1 x86
Ossom router decked out with DD-WRT as a bridge providing net
Sign the Online Petition to bring Crysis 2 to Linux/Mac!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th July 2009, 03:54 AM
HMSS013 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 511
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoEffex View Post
I think you have to install some sort of kmod.

yum install kmod-wl
that kmod installs via dependency in such case
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th July 2009, 04:00 AM
Firewing1 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Posts: 9,224
What card do you have? Are you sure it's compatible with the wl drivers?
__________________
[+] My open source software and blog
[+] Some of my howtos: (for full list, click here)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th July 2009, 07:42 AM
wvn Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Mir space station
Age: 36
Posts: 738
how about b43-cutter?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th July 2009, 10:31 AM
bbfuller Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 4,369
Hello HMSS013

It should happen that installing broadcom-wl pulls in kmod-wl as a dependency. I'm just not sure that it does.

Try:

Code:
yum install kmod-wl
and see what happens then.

If it doesn't work, post back the model of the card from the output of:

Code:
/sbin/lspci
Be careful of jumping to b43. It covers part of the broadcom range while broadcom-wl covers another part. There appears to be one card that they both support though.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th July 2009, 11:22 AM
Dangermouse Offline
Administrator - (On Leave)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London Postbox (the red one)
Age: 49
Posts: 3,864
Quote:
su -c 'yum -y install broadcom-wl'
try using
yum install wl-kmod that will insure all the deps, as there was a problem recently where not a deps were installed but i think this is fixed now, but thats the way i install it anyway.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broadcom, feodra

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opera on Feodra 7 Omnicloud Using Fedora 6 29th January 2008 05:11 PM
Win Dinamic Disk and Feodra 3 preacher Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 31st May 2005 10:20 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:46 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Shache Photos - Enshi Instagram Photos - Namibia Photos on Instagram