Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 9th July 2009, 04:26 AM
Eggbertx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington
Age: 22
Posts: 29
Problems with Firefox and Blender, Fedora, or my Video card?

Is it me or is Fedora's Firefox slow? This is really noticable on my machine when viewing Myspace pages, especially ones with playlists. With pages like these, it scrolls reaaaally reeeeeaaaaaly slooooowly. Also, it seems to load pages much slower than in Windows (something in Windows that is actually better than its Linux counterpart?!?!?)

Another problem that I've noticed is that when running Blender, it shows the title bar, but if I try to drop down a menu like File, or Render, It shows a white square, about the same size as the menu should be covering the GNOME panel, and it looks like the Blender panel that the File, Render, etc, menus are on covers the GNOME Panel, but if I move my cursor over icons or click on GNOME menus, it replaces that section of the Blender panel with the menu or whatever I clicked on, kind of like a hallucination, if that makes any sense.

If it's any help, I have an ATI Radion X600 GPU, and I am running Fedora 11.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th July 2009, 04:47 AM
JohnVV Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ann Arbor
Age: 47
Posts: 3,936
did you turn off ipv6 in firefox??
http://fedorasolved.org/Members/scot...eed-up-firefox
http://www.tweakguides.com/Firefox_1.html

"If it's any help, I have an ATI Radion X600 GPU, and I am running Fedora 11."
the ati drivers for linux are junk .
have you read the ati fglrx driver guid?
" Howto for fglrx (Ati driver) and Compiz-fusion "
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=155503
__________________
OpenSUSE 13.1-64bit & Scientific Linux 6.5-64bit ( fedora 4 to 11) and 19/20 on KVM
My Celestia Downloads

h t t p ://celestiamotherlode.net/catalog/show_creator_details.php?creator_id=10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th July 2009, 04:48 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
Try these tweaks: http://www.fedoraguide.info/index.ph...Firefox_Tweaks

V
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th July 2009, 05:48 AM
pankajp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggbertx View Post
Another problem that I've noticed is that when running Blender, it shows the title bar, but if I try to drop down a menu like File, or Render, It shows a white square, about the same size as the menu should be covering the GNOME panel, and it looks like the Blender panel that the File, Render, etc, menus are on covers the GNOME Panel, but if I move my cursor over icons or click on GNOME menus, it replaces that section of the Blender panel with the menu or whatever I clicked on, kind of like a hallucination, if that makes any sense.
Is it similar to the screenshot i've posted in https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=507282
In that case try disabling kernel modesetting. I read somewhere that the blender in koji (pending updates or updates-testing) solves this problem, not sure as i didnt try.
__________________
Fedora 14 Laughlin user on Dell Inspiron 1525
http://www.smolts.org/client/show/pu...0-71f71be44f7d :)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th July 2009, 05:44 PM
Eggbertx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington
Age: 22
Posts: 29
Yes that is what it looks like. I didn't know it was called artifacts, or else I would have said that. How do I turn off modesetting?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th July 2009, 06:26 AM
pankajp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eggbertx View Post
Yes that is what it looks like. I didn't know it was called artifacts, or else I would have said that. How do I turn off modesetting?
Ya, this kind of problem is difficult to describe, and even more to search for as i have experienced. After lots of search i found some people using this term so i also used it. Nothing like its called artifacts, i just happened to use that term.
To disable kernel modesetting, in the /boot/grub/grub.conf add the parameter "nomodeset" at the end of the line that begins with "kernel" In my case its something like this
Code:
title Fedora (2.6.29.5-191.fc11.x86_64)
	root (hd0,2)
	kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.5-191.fc11.x86_64 ro root=UUID=8526ad91-994f-46be-ab66-baa8b7d2abe6 rhgb quiet nomodeset
	initrd /initrd-2.6.29.5-191.fc11.x86_64.img
You may have many kernel lines, add it to the latest kernel which u use normally. Note that this will make plymouth use the text plugin and the nice boot animation will be replaced by a text progressbar at the bottom. Blender should work fine on next reboot. Dont forget to remove the nomodeset option when this problem is fixed (probably in blender 2.50). If you were using kde you could simply make the blender window show without borders and you wont notice the problem.
__________________
Fedora 14 Laughlin user on Dell Inspiron 1525
http://www.smolts.org/client/show/pu...0-71f71be44f7d :)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19th July 2009, 11:32 PM
Eggbertx Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Washington
Age: 22
Posts: 29
I turned off modesetting and it still doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
blender, fedora, firefox, problems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blender issue, or my video card? herbtheguy Using Fedora 1 2nd August 2009 04:10 AM
Problems with F9 & SiS video card v4mpiro Using Fedora 15 17th May 2008 04:09 PM
Firefox problems and problems with Laptop sound card. j_villa1983 Hardware & Laptops 3 22nd August 2006 05:54 AM
Video Card Problems bjro Hardware & Laptops 2 31st March 2006 09:12 AM
Video card problems in FC3 soebb02 Mac Chat 2 15th March 2005 10:06 AM


Current GMT-time: 06:06 (Sunday, 21-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat