Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th July 2009, 07:43 AM
dib Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
quickcam im does not work

Something really drives me crazy here. I have a Logitech quickcam im installed which in the amsn video and audio settings works pretty well.

However, it just does not with amsn, cheese and skype - even the green LED indicates that it works.

I have been searching for help for days here but cannot find anything which drives me crazy. I need that cam for video conferencing and those guys all use Skype

Here are some details:

Kernel: 2.6.29.5-191.fc11.i586
idVendor 0x046d Logitech, Inc.
idProduct 0x08a0 QuickCam IM


this and similar things won't work:
env LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype



Please be nice to me, you are talking to a real computer idiot ...

Thanks

Last edited by dib; 13th July 2009 at 07:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 9th August 2009, 09:52 AM
nokomo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
linuxfedorafirefox
I have the same problem. Let me know if you find a solution.
It work fine with Fedora9 and Fedora10

Logitech Quickcam pro 40000
Fedora11
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th October 2009, 07:58 AM
razrj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
linuxfedorafirefox
Smile quickcam pro for notebooks not working - workaround

This is for FC11. I'm using LiveCD/USB and after a lot of searching and not wanting to build a new kernel, I finally figured out that loading and unloading the uvcvideo driver works in my case. The driver loads without the nasty little init error I used to get most of the time when I plugged in the cam.

modprobe -r uvcvideo
modprobe ucvvideo

From what I've ready, the init error is a hardware timing problem. There are a few posts out there that get close, but none has a workaround for the supposed usb timing problem, except for the kernel reset mods.

My cam is a quickcam pro for notebooks, vintage 2006/2007. ID 046d:08c3

Hope this helps someone. I appreciate all the help I get from the forums.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th October 2009, 08:02 AM
razrj Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
linuxfedorafirefox
Smile quickcam pro

Oh yes, and I have found that the v4l preload if required not only for skype, but firefox flash too.
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so skype
LD_PRELOAD=/usr/lib/libv4l/v4l1compat.so firefox
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quickcam, work

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
QuickCam IM? StephenH Hardware & Laptops 9 13th December 2007 02:42 AM
Quickcam express locates, but fails to activate/work allyse Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 16th November 2006 09:13 PM
Logitech QuickCam Chat on FC5 (spca5xx not work?) urke Hardware & Laptops 10 12th November 2006 04:35 AM
quickcam pro 4000 dshafi Hardware & Laptops 12 22nd September 2004 03:10 AM


Current GMT-time: 22:16 (Monday, 22-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat