Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th August 2009, 04:49 PM
nt4cats Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 99
linuxfedorafirefox
Creating VM VLAN

I'm preparing to "follow" these directions which will make VirtualBox's networking behave like VMWare's "NAT" networking. Of course, these instructions are for a Ubuntu/Debian setup.

I am quite certain that I can write a script that'll do the equivalent steps on my Fedora 11 box -- which is acceptable to me. I would, however, like to know how to splice this stuff into NetworkManager and/or /etc/sysconfig/networking/devices/, to do this the "right" way.

The desired networking behavior:
* VM's get assigned addresses via DHCP on a virtual network
* VM's can talk to each other and to their physical host
* VM traffic out to the 'real world' is NATted
__________________
OS: Fedora12 x86_64
Hardware: Dell Precision M4300 laptop, core2duo 2.4GHz (9575.30 BogoMIPS), 4GB RAM, NVidia Quadro FX 360M (512M) @ 1680x1050, 256GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th August 2009, 12:38 PM
CraigWatson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Witham, Essex, UK
Age: 27
Posts: 341
linuxfedorafirefox
The latest version of VirtualBox (3.0.4) has "host-only" networking as a built-in option.

Choose "Host-only Adapter" on the "Attached to" drop-down box of your network adapter. You can then use the "vboxnet0" NIC as you would use any VMware "vmnet" interface - i.e. you can use "ifconfig vboxnet0 up" to bring the adapter up on your local Fedora install, and your physical host will have an IP in the same range as any of the guests attached to the virtual NIC - that is if you have any DHCP servers already set up and attached to "vboxnet0" - VirtualBox itself only provides DHCP on it's own internal "NAT" NIC.

I would personally install servers like DHCP, DNS, NAT, Proxy etc on virtual machines attached to "vboxnet0", so you have a totally "real" virtualised network. For the NAT machine, you can set it to have two NICs - one connected to "vboxnet0" and one connected to your host's NIC, either via "Bridged" mode or VirtualBox's "NAT" mode.
__________________
Personal Website | Windows to Linux - Tips from Experience

Desktop - Galileo
Dual-Boot: Fedora 13 x64, Windows 7 x64
Intel Core2Quad Q6600 @3.6GHz, 8GB PC2-8500 DDR2, ATI HD4870, 23" @ 1920x1080 + 20" @ 1600x900 (both DVI-D), 2TB ICH10R RAID0 array, Custom Watercooling

Laptop - MacBook 5.1 ('08 Aluminium)
Dual-Boot: Fedora 13 x64, Apple OS X
Intel Core2Duo, 2GB 1066MHz DDR3, nVidia 9400M, 13" LCD @ 1280x800, 160GB SATA

Last edited by CraigWatson; 6th August 2009 at 12:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
creating, vlan

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
install with two vlan on 1 NIC yunhui Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 20th October 2007 02:48 PM
Creating a port-based vlan paul sanz Servers & Networking 0 10th October 2007 09:52 AM
8021q VLAN beny Servers & Networking 3 12th September 2007 01:38 PM
vlan confguration at boot asmatic Servers & Networking 2 11th May 2005 12:40 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:40 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat