Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora Resources > Guides & Solutions (No Questions)
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Guides & Solutions (No Questions) Post your guides here (No links to Blogs accepted). You can also append your comments/questions to a guide, but don't start a new thread to ask a question. Use another forum for that.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th August 2009, 12:22 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
If you can ping but almost nothing else (including yum) works

I'll make this sticky till it's fixed.

If you have a 64 bit system, and install wine, chromium, or possibly some other programs, you may suddenly find that although pinging by hostname and graphical browsers work, most other things, such as ssh by hostname, and even yum, are suddenly unable to resolve DNS.

This is caused by some packages that are 32 bit only, such as the abovementioned wine and chromium, pull in a package called nss-mdns, but pull in the 32 bit version.

The package rudely overwrites your nsswitch.conf, adding a line to break most things.

One fix is to edit /etc/nsswitch.conf. You will see a line

hosts: files mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] dns

Put a # in front of the line to comment it out.

Now, things will work again.

Now that yum is working do

yum -y install nss-mdns

This will install the 64 bit version of the package. Once you have the 64 bit version installed, it will probably once again overwrite nsswitch.conf, re-adding the offending line, but that's fine--if you have the 64 bit version it will work.

If for some reason, it doesn't rewrite the file again, as a reader pointed out, be sure to uncomment the line again by removing the # sign.


It is a known bug, so will hopefully be fixed in the near future.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon

Last edited by scottro; 11th September 2009 at 12:17 PM. Reason: Additional info
  #2  
Old 6th August 2009, 12:28 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
After editing it try


Code:
su
chmod -w /etc/nsswitch.conf
  #3  
Old 6th August 2009, 01:46 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Hrrm--wouldn't you want to let it, be re-written again by the 64 bit version? (Or do you mean edit it after installing the 64 bit version?)


Or is that the whole line is simply not a good idea?

Thanks.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
  #4  
Old 6th August 2009, 11:15 PM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxkonqueror
An additional thought--untested, but recommended to me by someone I respect. Rather than comment out the line, one might be able to fix it by simply changing the order so that rather than it reading

hosts: files mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] dns


It reads

hosts: files dns mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return]


One might also be able to fix it by just removing the NOTFOUND=return. I haven't tested either solution, and actually, commenting it out and then installing the 64 bit seems easiest to me, but thought I'd offer those other suggestions.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Closed Thread

Tags
including, ping, works, yum

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can't ping external IPs (no firewall, web works) progressive Servers & Networking 3 19th June 2009 07:20 PM
Ping Works, but not firefox WhiteFeather Servers & Networking 4 10th April 2009 01:21 AM
Cant Ping but Internet works : FUNNY khandu Using Fedora 11 5th May 2008 08:03 AM
ping works but can't get internet. please help razvan_vlad Servers & Networking 8 28th January 2007 01:41 AM
Server crashes and only thing that works is PING - FC3 : 2.6.12-1.1381_FC3 Shade Servers & Networking 3 25th July 2006 09:45 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:40 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Aizawl Travel Photos on Instagram - Ensley - Ikot-Ekpene Instagram Photos