Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 27th September 2004, 05:46 AM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
Setup KDE as default desktop

Hi folks,

Please advise which item I have to check on Control
Center setting KDE as default desktop on GUI Login.

OR
How to set KDE as default desktop on GUI Login

TIA

B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27th September 2004, 06:00 AM
ejholmes Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 26
at the konsole type
Code:
$switchdesk KDE
if you want to go back to gnome just
Code:
$switchdesk GNOME
or if you want to do it in a gui just type
Code:
$switchdesk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2004, 06:04 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
or you can install the gui version read this thread: http://www.fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2238
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2004, 06:24 AM
satimis Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,398
Hi folks,

Noted with tks

B.R.
satimis
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th September 2004, 10:08 AM
oldie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Which file needs to be edited to start up in KDE?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27th September 2004, 10:17 AM
pigpen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Regensburg, Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 447
@oldie: there's a thread about this issue. note the weird behaviour the thread starter encountered...
__________________
/(bb|[^b]{2})/ -- that is the question!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27th September 2004, 10:28 AM
oldie Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Many thanks for that, pigpen. Did a search but couldn't find that thread!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th September 2004, 04:38 PM
jcstille Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 741
Yeah some people have had those wierd problems, not to bring them into this thread, but just be careful as always.
__________________
E-mail: jcstille@gmail.com
FedoraForum.org Administrator

Please read the Guidelines
So these are the people FedoraForum.org Here and their Blogs


My Blog <-Where I let you know whats going on
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
default, desktop, kde, setup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Default setup mail question BlackDragon31 Servers & Networking 4 7th November 2008 01:38 PM
Nagios default setup on Fedora 9 stereotype Servers & Networking 2 28th July 2008 11:11 PM
Default login setup madhuti Using Fedora 6 21st February 2008 09:10 AM
Setup default tabs/commands ajamison Using Fedora 1 24th May 2007 06:50 AM
What is the device for /tmp in a default FC5 logical volume setup? Dunhausen EOL (End Of Life) Versions 1 12th September 2006 09:16 AM


Current GMT-time: 18:05 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat