Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 10th August 2009, 12:37 PM
INFAMOUSNEEK Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
linuxfedorakonqueror
Question Help with Grub - Lost Windows Boot Loader..?!

Someone on here will know how to fix this.. I have tried a few different HD settings but can't get it working...

I just installed Fedora 11 (I installed over the Fedora 10 installation I had already installed)..

-Before I would have Grub give the choice of Fedora 10 or Windows (Where Windows would load the Win Boot loader for my options of Windows 7 and Windows Vista)

-NOW: I have the same options.. But when i select Windows (It loads the Recovery partition) instead of the Windows Boot Loader...

Here is my fdisk -l

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 192 1536000 27 Unknown
Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda2 192 5414 41943040 7 HPFS/NTFS
Partition 2 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda3 5414 38914 269089792 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/sda5 5414 10513 40960000 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda6 10513 29635 153600000 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda7 * 29635 29661 204799+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 29661 38914 74321919+ 8e Linux LVM

Here is my current grub.conf which is booting into windows recovery

#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
splashimage=(hd0,6)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora 11
root (hd0,6)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_infamousmobile-lv_root rhgb quiet vga=792
initrd /initrd-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE.img
title Windows 7/Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader (hd0,0)+1


Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10th August 2009, 01:39 PM
INFAMOUSNEEK Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
windows_98_nt_2000firefox
Fixed my own problem guys! Finally got it right..

#boot=/dev/sda
default=0
splashimage=(hd0,6)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title Fedora 11
root (hd0,6)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE ro root=/dev/mapper/vg_infamousmobile-lv_root rhgb quiet vga=792
initrd /initrd-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686.PAE.img
title Windows 7/Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader (hd0,1)+1
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th August 2009, 02:04 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
windows_xp_2003ie
Quote:
Originally Posted by INFAMOUSNEEK

title Windows 7/Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader (hd0,1)+1
Hello INFAMOUSNEEK,

Nice job. But here's something that might interest you at this point. Entering the drive and partition twice is redundant. Here are two more acceptable examples of GRUB menu command syntax for your situation...
Code:
title Windows 7/Vista
rootnoverify (hd0,1)
chainloader +1

title Windows 7/Vista
chainloader (hd0,1)+1
The rootnoverify command is used to set the current root device without attempting to mount the partition. It is used when the target partition is one that GRUB cannot mount (such as that Windows NTFS partition). The chainloader command used with that "+1" makes GRUB load and execute the first sector of the current root partition. If the root partition has already been established with the rootnoverify command, it's not necessary to repeat the partition in the chainloader command line. Lastly, I would predict that entering the drive and partition in the chainloader command would make it ignore the currently set root partition should they not be the same. Either way. Or your way. Just FYI.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th August 2009, 02:16 PM
INFAMOUSNEEK Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 12
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks for the info! I appreciate information like that! I will be sure to modify that.. as I too like things done as cleanly as possible!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, grub, loader, lost, windows

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use Windows (vista) boot loader instead of GRUB raycosm Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 16th September 2007 03:21 AM
How to add windows XP to Grub boot loader when i have 3 different HDD ATA /SATA legolas_w Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 27th October 2006 01:23 AM
Using Windows Boot Loader instead of Grub four86 Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 18th August 2005 05:57 AM
GRUB boot loader r windows boot loader? Rebels Mascot Using Fedora 4 12th May 2005 03:50 AM


Current GMT-time: 07:41 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat