Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 20th August 2009, 05:34 PM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
lspci | grep VGA
04:00.0 VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation GeForce 8600 GTS (rev a1)
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller : nVidia Corporation GeForce 8600 GTS (rev a1)

uname -r
2.6.29.6-217.2.8.fc11.x86_64

rpm -q kernel kernel-devel kernel-headers|sort
kernel-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.x86_64
kernel-2.6.29.6-213.fc11.x86_4
kernel-2.6.29.6-217.2.8.fc11.x86_64
kernel-devel-2.6.29.6-217.2.8.fc11.x86_64
kernel-headers-2.6.29.6-217.2.8.fc11.x86_64

rpm -qa|grep -i nvid|sort
akmod-nvidia-185.18.14-1.fc11.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-185.18.14-3.fc11.x86_64
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs-185.18.14-3.fc11.x86_64


There was no message of a log file when I ran
akmods --kernels `uname -r`

or

akmods --force

I haven't done much with nvidia drivers on Fedora. I have installed them on Fedora 10 32-bit, but that didn't really work.

Last edited by LinuxDanP; 20th August 2009 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 20th August 2009, 07:44 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Well, poo. Everything looks OK - except you don't have the 32-bit run-time libs installed:
yum install xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-libs.i586

But that (almost certainly) won't fix your problem, since it's only needed for some few 32-bit apps at run-time. All I can suggest at this point is that you try the DKMS-based NVidia driver, as per Post #4 in Leigh's tutorial: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...91&postcount=4. Note that you must purge all RPMFusion NVidia drivers bits first. If that also fails, then upgrade it to the beta one: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showpo...0&postcount=67

Good Luck,
V

EDIT: Here's another possible solution that just popped up: http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...46#post1256546

Last edited by Hlingler; 21st August 2009 at 03:10 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21st August 2009, 05:17 AM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
Ok, thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 1st September 2009, 06:17 AM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
I tried to install the DKMS drivers as outlined in Leigh's tutorial. However, after I retrieved the packages with wget and attempted to install them, it claims I'm missing a key of some sort. After yum lists packages for installation and removal and asks to proceed, I hit yes. It then attempts to install, but bombs out with : Public key for nvidia-x11(etc, etc) is not installed. What do I do to get the public key?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 1st September 2009, 07:22 AM
JohnnyLinux Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 460
linuxfedorafirefox
Sorry but I might have missed something. Is there an advantage on using the DKMS? (those are the ones used on Red Hat, right? I like akmod, is it better than akmod?)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 1st September 2009, 04:12 PM
hantsy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
I am always confused why not use DKMS directly and still reinvent a wheel.
Obviously, DKMS is more powerful and mature.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 1st September 2009, 06:27 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxDanP
It then attempts to install, but bombs out with : Public key for nvidia-x11(etc, etc) is not installed. What do I do to get the public key?
You don't really need it; just tell YUM not to check the GPG key this time:
yum --nogpgcheck [local]install ...

V
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 1st September 2009, 06:45 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Quote:
Originally Posted by timmywear
Is there an advantage on using the DKMS? (those are the ones used on Red Hat, right? I like akmod, is it better than akmod?)
See http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showth...84#post1259184
& posts following it.

Mostly a matter of personal opinion. Here's mine: DKMS is a mature and proven software system for this type of function; one (or two for 64-bit) RPMs are easier to maintain and track than several; as others have pointed out, I too have never understood the reason to "re-invent the wheel"; DKMS is already required by other stuff, so redundant software is a waste of HDD space; the resultant RPMs have (almost always) Just Worked™©®. YMMV.

But if you like akmods, and it works for you, then I would say don't change that, unless and until something happens to force you to consider alternatives.

V
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 1st September 2009, 07:43 PM
mikeydeeeee Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 52
linuxfirefox
My 2 cents ...

As somebody who's been struggling mightily with the Nvidia vendor drivers and the various other incarnations (nv, nouveau) supplied with Fedora since I put a GeForce 8400 GS into my machine (read the history here, and here) I can honestly say I've hit the first winning combination of kernel, device driver, X11 driver and KDE. About friggin time, too.

As of last weekend's updates, I'm running:
Kernel 2.6.27.30-170.2.82.fc10.i686.PAE
kmod-nvidia-2.6.27.30-170.2.82.fc10.i686.PAE-180.60-1.fc10.3.i686
xorg-x11-drv-nvidia-180.60-1.fc10.i386
kdebase-4.3.0-1.fc10.i386
and things have been damn near perfect. None of the constant video data corruption problems that have been plaguing me since I went to an Nvida card, no weird lockups, no unexplained system crashes, just smooth clean function. It's almost boring.

Funny, I always figured the problem was either in the Nvidia supplied driver, or the kmod from RPMfusion. But the problems all cleared up affter the KDE 4.3 upgrade, so I can only imagine the problems stemmed from there.

Now of course, this is not to say that all is perfect. Full screen mode programs no longer respect the app launch bar (panel) I keep on the right side of my screen (reminds me of the old MS Office quick launch bar) and k3b blows up every time I use it. Still though, the improvement is vast and marked and I'm sure any little problems will be ironed out over time.

Good job guys!
MikeD
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 1st September 2009, 09:09 PM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
You don't really need it; just tell YUM not to check the GPG key this time:
yum --nogpgcheck [local]install ...

V
Ok, cool. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2nd September 2009, 03:33 AM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
Finally! I got the DKMS nvidia driver installed and switched over to it in xorg.conf.

Unfortunately, KDE STILL won't work right...
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2nd September 2009, 03:39 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Quote:
Unfortunately, KDE STILL won't work right...
<SIGH> KDE does not seem to be playing nice lately. Have you updated to kde-4.3 ? What exactly "won't work right" ?? If you have any other DEs installed, you might try logging into one, and see if everything looks OK - this would at least narrow the issue down to KDE.

V
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2nd September 2009, 03:49 AM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
Today I re-installed KDE by running yum install @kde-desktop. Is there another KDE package that I should use instead?

KDE is currently the only DE in use, but I'll try installing xfce or something and see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2nd September 2009, 06:35 PM
LinuxDanP Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CA, USA
Age: 21
Posts: 73
windows_xp_2003firefox
I installed XFCE, and when I run startx I still get the black screen. Is something in the kernel not configured right? When I booted the x86_64 Live DVD, it failed to start an X server. I had to install it from the alternative TTY shell script installer.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2nd September 2009, 06:59 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,294
linuxopera
Have you done the steps to blacklist "nouveau" and re-build initrd ?

V
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
akmodnvidia, kmodnvidia

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] akmod can not build kmod-nvidia-96xx saqer Using Fedora 5 26th July 2009 09:26 AM
nvidia driver does not work (akmod-nvidia) zuargo Hardware & Laptops 4 14th June 2009 07:11 AM
are akmod-nvidia and kmod-nvidia exclusive? marko Using Fedora 2 23rd February 2009 03:26 AM
Nvidia API Mismatch. Fedora 9 X86_64 using livna kmod-nvidia jjcf89 Hardware & Laptops 13 2nd November 2008 01:39 AM
nVidia Again: No Match for argument: kmod-nvidia-smp MarcoBert Hardware & Laptops 0 8th August 2006 11:03 PM


Current GMT-time: 08:32 (Sunday, 21-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Hotel Remota - Puerto Natales - Patagonia Instagram Photos - Into the Woods Festival - Prizeren City Photos on Instagram - USA - Desa Gubug, Kab. Grobogan Travel Photos on Instagram