Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12th September 2009, 03:41 AM
soylentman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 8
linuxsafari
System/Administration Menu not prompting for password, then saying wrong password

I'm having a prob w/ system/admin menu.. about 1/2 the progs reply with "The password you typed is invalid. Please try again".

It does not prompt for a password. Some things work some things don't.

I have no idea where to start troubleshooting this error.
__________________
Andy York
FedoraGeeks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12th September 2009, 04:17 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
The chances are that it wants the root password, not the password of the user. Are you typing the root password?
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th September 2009, 04:21 AM
soylentman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 8
linuxsafari
Reply: post1264109

It does not ask at all. Already said that.

Thanks for trying.

ay
__________________
Andy York
FedoraGeeks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th September 2009, 05:41 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
You didn't phrase it clearly enough for me. (Especially after 23:00)

In that case, I think I would try going into the GUI as root. Of course, in Fedora, that's not that easy, but there's a ton of different ways of how to do it around the forum.

I'd be very curious if that solves the issue. If so, it indicates (once again) that it was a foolish decision on their part to ban root login. If that doesn't solve the issue, then it's foolish of me to think it's foolish of them.

All kidding aside, you might want to clarify that on Linuxquestions as well (for others who see the thread there--that is, that there is no prompting at all for a password) If I misunderstood, there is a chance others will too. Or perhaps it's simpy due to the fact that I'm overtired and just missed it, I don't know. (As it's even later now, almost 1:00 AM)
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th September 2009, 05:43 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Just to add, it hits me that usually (in Fedora? Now I'm not sure, I'm in CentOS now, but don't run Gnome so I don't have that menu), but I think that the problem might be that it's not prompting for a password. It seems to me that as a rule, when you click on one of these things, it says that you are doing something that requires root privilege, and then gives you the chance to enter the password.
Can someone confirm or correct that?
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12th September 2009, 05:57 AM
soylentman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 8
linuxsafari
Normally it does prompt for a password. Now I just get a popup saying "The password you typed is invalid. Please try again". No password ever typed. Fedora 11_x64 is OS . All updates installed. Can access all using terminal so it's not the end of the world yet.

ay
__________________
Andy York
FedoraGeeks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th September 2009, 06:13 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Hrrm.... a new update broke something, perhaps? (I saw your reply on Linuxquestions as well, and yes, I think that makes it clear for anyone else. Also, I took the liberty of deleting the second post, it seemed one of those accidental double posts.)

I'm going to change the thread title slightly--especially as it's the weekend, the more specific the title, the better chance of getting someone who has run into the issue. If the change is a problem, let me know and I'll change it back tomorrow morning.
(Or if another mod sees it first, change it back if the OP requests it.)
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th September 2009, 12:29 AM
soylentman Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 8
windows_xp_2003safari
OK. Gave up and did re-install. All is good for now. Thanks anyway to those who tried to help, maybe next time. Guess I'd better start doing my testing new stuff on a VM from now on. Good to see http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu is still kicking. I recall visiting there several years ago. A good deal of information jammed in that site if you don't mind the layout.

ay
__________________
Andy York
FedoraGeeks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
administration, password, system

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VSFTPD - directly loggon to the folder without prompting for a password xyleo Servers & Networking 5 7th April 2006 03:01 AM
Wrong password after 'SU' gpeacock Using Fedora 2 9th November 2005 02:31 AM
remote administration with bios password enabled Zigzagcom Security and Privacy 3 25th February 2005 04:32 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:58 (Friday, 22-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat