Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 22nd October 2009, 05:49 AM
Neel Singh Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
windows_xp_2003firefox
Fedora 10 Network Configuration issue

hi 2 all,
I am new to fedora. I have two problems
1) The problem i faced i already disscussed at

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=212936

I have installed 64 Bit Fedora 10 on a computer. I am having a strange problem configuring the eth0 device. I try to set a static IP address. The problem is whatever I type in the Default Gateway Address becomes the Subnet Mask. So I type in the IP, then the Subnet Mask of 255.255.0.0, then the Gateway of 10.10.1.2. I push OK, leave the tab, then return to it. When I return, both the Subnet Mask AND the Default Gateway are 255.255.0.0.

I tried the solution
Close down system-config-network and run ifdown eth0
then
cd to /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts and edit the file called ifcfg-eth0 and fill in the relevent details.
ifup eth0 and you should now be right.

but after entering ifup eth0
the terminal says
RTNETLINK answers: Invalid arguments.


2) I am using Acer quad core Desktop machine. Can I connect Wi-fi also in the linux like that one in a Laptop.
Please help.
Thanks
Dev
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25th October 2009, 09:19 AM
diamond_ramsey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 789
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neel Singh View Post
...
1) The problem i faced i already disscussed at

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=212936

I tried the solution
Close down system-config-network and run ifdown eth0
then
cd to /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts and edit the file called ifcfg-eth0 and fill in the relevent details.
ifup eth0 and you should now be right.

but after entering ifup eth0
the terminal says
RTNETLINK answers: Invalid arguments.
2) I am using Acer quad core Desktop machine. Can I connect Wi-fi also in the linux like that one in a Laptop.
...
Neel Singh, thank you for your post.

Could you try the following:

* cd to /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts

* more the ifcfg-eth0 file and provide a snippet of the results.

From this data, will see what's up.
__________________
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F18 Spherical Cow - 3.11.10-100.fc18.x86_64 / i686
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F19 Schrödinger's Cat - 3.14.17-100.fc19.x86_64 / i686
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F20 Heisenbug - 3.15.10-200.fc20.x86_64 / i686
2 dual cores, 11 GB RAM, F21 TBD - 3.16.1-301.fc21.x86_64 / i686
80 x86_64 computing cores, 144 GB RAM & 8 SATA Seagate 7200.12 500 GB harddisks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configuration, fedora, network

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fedora 10 Network Configuration issue markdx Fedora Focus 19 3rd June 2009 04:06 PM
Network configuration issue after yum update Jamwa Servers & Networking 4 29th May 2008 09:27 AM
Network configuration in Fedora: a nightmare? Cyberman Servers & Networking 18 25th May 2008 11:26 PM
Network Configuration in Fedora 7 KirkD Servers & Networking 1 25th October 2007 06:37 AM
ndiswrapper/network configuration issue prammy Servers & Networking 19 7th April 2006 05:44 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:31 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat