Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th October 2004, 05:03 PM
Tjobbe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Screen resolution - cant change from 640 x 480

Hi everyone,

I have just installed fedora core2 on an old system (PII, 300 MHZ) and it works fine!

the only thing is, I cant change the resolution from 640 x 480 pxs. I have gone to Preferences > Screen Resolution and the only options it gives me is the 640 x 480. nothing else. is this a bug or my pc's fault?

I have a 17 inch dell monitor - 18 months old, and a 32MB grapfics card.

everything looks and works fine, just the damm resolution.

how do i change it?? I'm quite a novice so would need a bit of help on this, thanks in advance!

Tjobbe
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 6th October 2004, 05:21 PM
sayeeth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Age: 34
Posts: 661
What graphic card are you using? Nvidia/ ATI or otherwise?
__________________
[sayeeth@somebody ~]$ kill bill
bash: kill: bill: arguments must be process or job IDs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th October 2004, 08:34 PM
TheJkWhoSaysNi Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 44
Sounds like you need new drivers. You could change the resolution in /etc/X11/xorg.conf dont know whether it would work. But i suggest trying 800x600 just to test if it will adjust the resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th October 2004, 12:03 AM
Tjobbe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
i have an "Elsa cladiac 511 PCI, powerred by Nvidia geforce 2 mx400" (32MB)

if that helps.

I changed the card in system devices > hardware or something like that from something TO the Nvidia geforce MX. after that I was asked to restart and since then Xserver hasnt been able to find my monitor. how do i reconfigure the monitor and graphics card??


all i get is the dos type logon screen. and it doesnt go to the graphical one.

hope you can help me, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th October 2004, 12:03 AM
Tjobbe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
sorry that should read "Gladiac"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th October 2004, 12:59 AM
Chas.H Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Stokes County, North Carolina
Age: 55
Posts: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjobbe
I have gone to Preferences > Screen Resolution and the only options it gives me is the 640 x 480. nothing else. is this a bug or my pc's fault?
Have you tried: Systems Settings > Display?

There are three tabs on the dialog screen:

Settings
Hardware
Dual head

You should be able to find the settings you need there. The first and most obvious is the Resolution dropDown on the Settings tab.

***use caution on this next bit***
If that doesn't help check the Hardware Tab and make sure it is all correct. Since you need to enter the root password you need to be careful here because you can do anything, including making it worse.

Since you have only one monitor you don't need to mess with Dual head and you may not have that tab anyway.
__________________
Cheers,
Charles
Booke Seminars
Gilded Age
9 Dragon Palace Restaurant

Still using FC2
Upgraded to FC4 July 16, 2005!!
Still using FC4

Registered Linux User #373127
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th October 2004, 02:47 AM
imdeemvp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Age: 45
Posts: 8,256
you need to install nvidia drivers.... www.nvidia.com READ intructions carefully!

ALSO run system-display-config and under the Hardware TAB select the proper video driver
__________________
HELP with JAVA, MP3's, Wireless, Repo's, YUM, Partitions, System Monitors, Nvidia, ATI drivers, LIMEWIRE PRO & MORE!.

Easiest and most friendly desktop ever is PCLinuxOS! Includes all this apps. Just try it.

"The greater the struggle THE greater the achievment."

Do you know HIM?

If you are an idiot click here. NThis will test you linux skills :D

Last edited by imdeemvp; 7th October 2004 at 02:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 7th October 2004, 10:21 AM
Tjobbe Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
I can NOT get into the graphical display of fedora, all I have is the DOS type logon screen as I said above. This is after I went into "Systems Settings > Display" to change the hardware. I change dmy grpahics card TO an nvidia geforce 2 generic, thought this would be ok but upon restarting it would not load the xserver.

HOW do I manually re-configure the graphics card or re-set it to what it was before I changed it?

I have no idea what I should be doing once i have logged into the root of the dos interface, any help apreciated, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th October 2004, 12:20 PM
Chas.H Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Stokes County, North Carolina
Age: 55
Posts: 248
In that case, I would take imdeemvp's advice and get the drivers from nvidia. Apart from reading Nvidia's instructions I can't tell you much about that instillation because I don't have that card.

However, after you finish that installation, you should be able to boot into Xwindows even if it is still 640 x 480. From there you can follow my steps above to make your changes. Changes made there are saved in /etc/X11/xorg.conf as TheJkWhoSaysNi stated. You may want to have a look at that file to make sure changes made in 'Systems Settings > Display' are reflected in the xorg.conf.

Take it one step at a time and you'll get there...
__________________
Cheers,
Charles
Booke Seminars
Gilded Age
9 Dragon Palace Restaurant

Still using FC2
Upgraded to FC4 July 16, 2005!!
Still using FC4

Registered Linux User #373127
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th October 2004, 12:44 PM
superbnerd
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Here if a quick howto for nvidia.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 21st November 2004, 01:58 AM
murtle Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 4
Did you configure your monitor in Display preferences Hardware tab?

Set it 1280x1024 CRT. It would be ok.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
480, 640, change, resolution, screen

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Screen Resolution Won't Change MasamuneSoul Using Fedora 7 24th February 2009 02:48 PM
Change screen resolution rebelote Hardware & Laptops 3 15th November 2005 12:34 AM


Current GMT-time: 21:27 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat