Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 8th October 2004, 12:00 PM
jerryau Offline

Question Sharing windows printers with Fedora

Hi!

I am completely new to Fedora and Linux generaly. I have a M$ Windows 2k3 server which I use to share my printers on a small network. So far only windows machines were connecting to this server, but now I've decided to try out Fedora. Does anyone know what do I need to be able to use these "windows printers" with Fedora? I have found some info on Google, but it was very limited and my skills with Fedora are not very good . Any help is greatly appriciated.

Thanks,
Jerry
Old 8th October 2004, 01:05 PM
gablaxian Offline

To help clarify, are you trying to access the printer using linux through your windows server, or do you want to use the fedora box as the printer server?
Old 8th October 2004, 03:04 PM
blammo Offline

Go to LinuxPrinting.org and check for a driver and compatability for the printer(s). Here you will find info and howto's on setting up the printer. Very good site.
Old 9th October 2004, 01:41 AM
Jman Offline

Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryau
I have a M$ Windows 2k3 server which I use to share my printers on a small network.
Seems clear to me.

Try Main Menu > System Settings > Printing. Click the new button. The type of queue will be networked windows (smb).

Chances are there will be a driver. What printers do you have?
Old 9th October 2004, 02:45 AM
kosmosik Offline