Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 28th November 2009, 04:53 AM
fedora lover Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
Exclamation How Can I Remove Old Kernels in Fedora 11 , by mistake i delete kerneloops-0.12-5.fc1

hi all
How Can I Remove Old Kernels in Fedora 11 , by mistake i delete kerneloops-0.12-5.fc1
i search in google and end up with these commands

Quote:
# rpm -qa |grep kernel
kernel-PAE-2.6.30.9-96.fc11.i686
kernel-PAE-2.6.29.4-167.fc11.i686
kernel-firmware-2.6.30.9-96.fc11.noarch

Quote:
# uname -r
2.6.30.9-96.fc11.i686.PAE
and by mistake i delete kerneloops-0.12-5.fc1 what should i do
?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28th November 2009, 05:24 AM
deathspeeder Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 32
linuxfedorafirefox
Since you have found old kernels using
Code:
rpm -qa | grep kernel
you can remove the old one simply using, for example
Code:
rpm -e kernel-PAE-2.6.29.4-167
or
Code:
yum remove kernel-PAE-2.6.29.4-167
does it help?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th November 2009, 05:29 AM
fedora lover Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
thanks deathspeeder
but i deletedkerneloops-0.12-5.fc11.i586 it this a problem ?
before i post this thread

Last edited by fedora lover; 28th November 2009 at 05:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th November 2009, 05:39 AM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
Quote:
but i deletedkerneloops-0.12-5.fc11.i586 it this a problem ?
That is not a "problem". Without 'kerneloops', any kernel errors will simply not be automatically reported to the Linux Kernel Development Team. The package is NOT required in any way for proper operation of the OS. However, you may simply re-install it to re-gain the automatic bug report function.

V
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28th November 2009, 05:45 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfedorafirefox
by default, yum will keep 3 kernel versions on your system. the current, and 2 previous. I would recommend that you keep at least 1 previous version in case a yum upgrade hoses your kernel, you can boot to the previous kernel.

(after you have 3 kernel versions installed, yum will start to remove the oldest version when you install a new kernel.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th November 2009, 06:11 AM
fedora lover Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 22
linuxfedorafirefox
thanks all
i will keep one kernel in case of any thing going wrong .

Edit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hlingler View Post
That is not a "problem". Without 'kerneloops', any kernel errors will simply not be automatically reported to the Linux Kernel Development Team. The package is NOT required in any way for proper operation of the OS. However, you may simply re-install it to re-gain the automatic bug report function.

V
How can i reinstalled ? it seem help for error problem "bug"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th November 2009, 07:01 AM
marcrblevins Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Age: 43
Posts: 4,168
linuxfedorafirefox
Proper way:
Modify your /etc/yum.conf file, change the installonly_limit= liner to numbers of kernel you want to keep.

Default is 3.

I would not bother with it, kernel is not that big is it?

Did you really "delete" or you properly removed kerneloops?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th November 2009, 08:30 PM
Hlingler Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Connellsville, PA, USA
Posts: 11,292
linuxopera
Quote:
How can i reinstalled ? it seem help for error problem "bug"
su
yum install kerneloops


V
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th November 2009, 12:34 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfedorafirefox
Quote:
Originally Posted by fedora lover View Post
thanks all
i will keep one kernel in case of any thing going wrong .

Edit:

How can i reinstalled ? it seem help for error problem "bug"
really, kerneloops doesn't do much as far as helping you in case of a bug. However, it does give the kernel developers much needed information to fix problems when you send reports to them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
delete, fedora, kerneloopsfc1, kernels, mistake, remove

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Can I Remove Old Kernels in Fedora 8 thedude165 Using Fedora 7 6th November 2009 06:26 PM
I chose remove all partitions by mistake... marioatallah Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 15th March 2009 02:52 AM
FC3 Woes pt.2 - Can add but not delete apps from Add/Remove Applications jsmaye EOL (End Of Life) Versions 19 7th April 2005 07:23 AM


Current GMT-time: 11:33 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat