Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st December 2009, 04:21 AM
jonathonp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Age: 42
Posts: 532
linuxfedorafirefox
Want to configure printer from terminal?

I want to set up a printer with the command line only in fedora 12. I have been searching for a few days now.

Is their a way to avoid using the
system-config-printer gui? I searched through the fedora docs and their seems to be no information available. johnny
__________________
http://poppleit.com/

Fedora 17 XFCE x64, Xubuntu 12.04 LTS x64, Windows 7 64bit
HP-ProBook 5830 i3 - PC AMD Core 4
MacBookPro v10.7.4 - 2.8GHz i7 4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st December 2009, 04:57 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Yeah, it's pretty bad how Fedora, and worse, RedHat, seem to forget about the terminal in their documentation. Actually, cups seems to have forgotten as well.

The command is lpadmin. The man page is lacking somewhat. If it was a really generic laserjet, running on a network, at an address of 192.168.1.50, that you were going to call HPLJ
lpadmin -p HPLJ -E -v socket://192.168.1.50 -m laserjet.ppd

The ppd is given in relation to /usr/share/cups/model, if I remember correctly.

Anyway, if you google around for lpadmin, you can, possibly get the instructions when combining it with the man page.
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st December 2009, 05:09 AM
scottro Offline
Retired Community Manager -- Banned from Texas by popular demand.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 8,142
linuxopera
Ah, here's the 1.1 manual which gives a good description of lpadmin

http://www.cups.org/doc-1.1/sam.html
__________________
--
http://home.roadrunner.com/~computertaijutsu

Do NOT PM forum members with requests for technical support. Ask your questions on the forum.


"I don't know why there is the constant push to break any semblance of compatibility" --anon
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st December 2009, 05:13 AM
jonathonp Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Melbourne
Age: 42
Posts: 532
linuxfedorafirefox
Thanks for the help scottro.
__________________
http://poppleit.com/

Fedora 17 XFCE x64, Xubuntu 12.04 LTS x64, Windows 7 64bit
HP-ProBook 5830 i3 - PC AMD Core 4
MacBookPro v10.7.4 - 2.8GHz i7 4GB RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
configure, printer, terminal

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Printer won't configure vinoman Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 19th June 2009 10:19 PM
HP printer won't configure vinoman Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 2 19th December 2008 05:36 PM
Configure printer arkkundan Hardware & Laptops 1 2nd May 2008 01:32 PM
How to configure the printer mnguyen Using Fedora 2 29th September 2004 02:09 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:46 (Friday, 01-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat