Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 21st January 2010, 05:28 PM
profdrsung Offline

macossafari
Fedora 12 - Black screen during install

Hello,

I tried to install Fedora 12 on my machine using the live CD and got the following problem:
After selecting boot from the startup menu, my screen goes into standby mode and never wakes up again. After 20 minutes the there are no further activities on the cd-drive or the hard disk. I waitet for another 15 minutes, but nothing happend. The only way was to restart my computer.

I figured it might have to do with my NVIDIA Card, since it is not supported out of the box by fedora 12.

So I tried to add xdriver=vesa to the boot command. It didn't work.
After that I tried the text mode install. (vmlinuz0 initrd=initrd.img rootCD-Name) text). The kernel got loaded but after that the screen goes blank again and switches into standby mode.

And to rule out the obvious: I read the documentation, but since I'm quite new to linux, i couldn't figure out if any of the options might help with my problem.

Here's my hardware:
Intel Core 2 Quadcore Q8300
HD SATA II
Grafics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GT 220
Mainboard: D2950 (Chipset NVIDIA MCP73PV)

---------- Post added at 06:28 PM CST ---------- Previous post was at 07:27 AM CST ----------

Meanwhile I tried installing ubuntu and this seems to work with disabling apic.
I tried editing the boot command and added noapic at the end, but got the same result as before. Any suggestions?

Last edited by profdrsung; 21st January 2010 at 06:28 AM. Reason: Forgot to select E-Mail notification.
Old 24th January 2010, 12:19 AM
tashirosgt Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
This is the first that I have heard of an "xdriver" option. On a familiar list of kernel options and parameters (http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Docum...parameters.txt), there is the "vga" parameter that can be set to "ask" or a numerical value. (http://wiki.antlinux.com/pmwiki.php?n=HowTos.VgaModes)