<---- template headericclude ----->
Remove Triple boot?
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Remove Triple boot?

I am currently have a boot choice of Win 7, Fedora 11, and Ubuntu 9. They were installed in that order. Everyone told me how great ubuntu was and I wanted to try it. I do not like it, I prefer Fedora. I would like to remove Ubuntu, but still want to keep Fedora and Windows. Any help would be appreciated. I'm still a linux novice, so please be specific. Thanks.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Here are the steps:

1) Boot into Fedora
    2) Install GParted if it's not already installed
    3) Run GParted, and write down (on paper, or in gedit, kwrite, or wherever) what partitions exist and where on the drive that you are interested in.

If you don't have any volume labels, it might be a bit harder to discern which is which, but mounting and rummaging around those partitions should give you the answer. (To help you start, look at the partition formats: NTFS = Windows, ext2/3/4 = Linux, swap is obvious.) Be very careful to note any purely-data partitions; you don't want to destroy your /home partition if you have one, for example!

4) Copy any data from the Ubuntu partition you want to save back to your Fedora partition (in Nautilus, Dolphin, the command-line, or however else you like.)

5) In Fedora, reinstall the boot-loader by going to the command-line (aka terminal), and typing:
    su -c '/sbin/grub-install /dev/sda'
    Give it your root password when it asks for it.
    IMPORTANT NOTE: Replace /dev/sda with whatever drive your OS partitions are on if needs be.

6) Unmount the Ubuntu partition, and then use GParted to delete the Ubuntu partition. You may now expand the Fedora partition to take up the space that Ubuntu used to, assuming that the Fedora partition is immediately preceding the Ubuntu one.