Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 22nd February 2010, 07:28 PM
wanling Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
File Manager

I am new to fedora and have recently installed Fedore 12 on my IBM Laptop.
While updating the system I started having problems with the file manager, it starts and keeps on opening windows.

I would like to know what can be done in order to stop that from happening.

Thank you for your help.

Last edited by wanling; 22nd February 2010 at 08:38 PM.
Old 23rd February 2010, 02:43 AM
CiaW Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
I had that happen when I opened Xiphos after I upgraded to the rawhide (Fedora 13) repo. The folks on the Xiphos / gnomesword mailing list suggested it's likely due to Firefox 3.6 and it's use of xulrunner 1.9.2 rather than 1.9.1.

I don't know what xulrunner is or does, but since it's similar behavior it might be related. Is Fedora 12 at Firefox 3.6 ? Does that happen when you're opening a certain application or just when you log on to the desktop or when?
Old 2nd March 2010, 06:00 AM
nightliz Offline

windows_vistaie
I have the same problem! It happens when I log on. The File Manager opens tons of windows and the cursor is constantly spinning like the computer is loading something.

I just installed F12 x86 64 Gnome. The problem did not start until after I installed an update (one of 500+ so I am not sure which.)
I am running Firefox 3.5.8, though it tells me to upgrade.

Last edited by nightliz; 2nd March 2010 at 06:24 AM.
Old 5th April 2010, 06:30 AM
dohnan Offline

linuxfirefox
Re: File Manager

same problem here. it just started after updating. like you i have no idea which update caused it. i have been searching the forums. i tried all the suggestion. NOTHING work. Time to re-install everything. it is no wonder no one wants to switch from windows. Linux is way too unstable. Yes linux folks, i said unstable. Fedora 12 was brilliant till i updated.
Old 5th April 2010, 06:39 AM
aleph Offline