<---- template headericclude ----->
Problem with install .bin files
FedoraForum.org - Fedora Support Forums and Community
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ukraine, Kharkiv
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Problem with install .bin files

    Hi guys!
    I have same problem with *.bin files.
    When I try to install software from *.bin file I see error:
    Code:
    [andrew@notebook Programming]$ ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    bash: ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin: Access denied
    [andrew@notebook Programming]$
    When I run command ls -la I see this:
    Code:
    [andrew@notebook Programming]$ ls -la installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin 
    -rwxrwxrwx. 1 andrew andrew 82624164 Апр  4 16:39 installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    [andrew@notebook Programming]$
    This error exist if I try to install this application with root access. What I mast do for fix this error?
    Thanks for any help!

    P.S. I have Fedora 12 x86_64 on my notebook ASUS M51Sn.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,269
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Problem with install .bin files

    Code:
    sh ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    or
    Code:
    sudo sh ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    ???

  3. #3
    leigh123linux Guest

    Re: Problem with install .bin files

    Try making the .bin file executable.

    Code:
    su
    chmod +x installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ukraine, Kharkiv
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Problem with install .bin files

    Quote Originally Posted by glennzo
    Code:
    sh ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    or
    Code:
    sudo sh ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    ???
    Thank you for your prompt response. That's what I got:
    Code:
    [andrew@notebook ~]$ su -
    Password: 
    [root@notebook ~]# cd /media/DATA/SOFT/Linux/Programming/
    [root@notebook Programming]# sh ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin
    ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin: ./installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin: I can not run binary file
    [root@notebook Programming]#

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    In your closet
    Posts
    16,269
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Problem with install .bin files

    Try what Leigh suggested.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Connellsville, PA, USA
    Posts
    11,309
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Problem with install .bin files

    It appears from output of 'ls -la' command in post #1 that this file is already flagged as executable. Perhaps it is corrupt, or not a BASH-compatible script. Please post:
    file /media/DATA/SOFT/Linux/Programming/installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin

    However, it also appears that this file is currently located on a read-only file system, and if it is located on a removable media (CD/DVD), and you are attempting to run it from there, mount options may prevent it from being executed (i.e.: mounted read-only, noexec, etc.). Try: copy the file to a convenient read-write folder on your main file system and run again as root-user.

    V

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Ukraine, Kharkiv
    Posts
    20
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Problem with install .bin files

    Quote Originally Posted by Hlingler
    It appears from output of 'ls -la' command in post #1 that this file is already flagged as executable. Perhaps it is corrupt, or not a BASH-compatible script. Please post:
    file /media/DATA/SOFT/Linux/Programming/installbuilder-qt-professional-6.3.0-linux-x64-installer.bin

    However, it also appears that this file is currently located on a read-only file system, and if it is located on a removable media (CD/DVD), and you are attempting to run it from there, mount options may prevent it from being executed (i.e.: mounted read-only, noexec, etc.). Try: copy the file to a convenient read-write folder on your main file system and run again as root-user.

    V
    Thank you all for your help!
    The problem was in the wrong mount the DATA. Overwrite the file on the system (where Linux is installed) and everything worked, I'll check the mount options. Thank you again!

Similar Threads

  1. Install RPM files
    By Waynehead69 in forum Installation, Upgrades and Live Media
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st June 2009, 11:53 AM
  2. how to install .tar.bz2 files
    By daccs in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 4th April 2008, 01:22 PM
  3. install tar.bz files
    By santoshmath in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26th August 2007, 12:10 PM
  4. Can't install tar.gz or tar.bz2 files
    By lol-catalyst in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th April 2007, 05:13 PM
  5. How to install .bin files.
    By vishnumrao in forum Using Fedora
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13th March 2005, 10:47 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
[[template footer(Guest)]]