Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 5th April 2010, 02:19 PM
dataspy Offline

linuxubuntufirefox
How to select packages for minimal install

Hello, I'm new to Fedora (not linux) and I was wondering how I would go about doing a minimal install of fedora 12. I downloaded the live disc but it doesn't give me installation options (I'm new to minimal installs so I don't know that much). I also searched all over looking for a fedora minimal install iso, something similar to the ubuntu minimal install iso that is only 12mb.

Any help greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!
Old 5th April 2010, 02:40 PM
stoat Offline

windows_xp_2003ie
Re: How to select packages for minimal install

The LiveCD installs a rather minimal system (obviously, since it fits on a CD). But if you mean you want an absolutely positively truly minimal system, then download and create the first CD of the CD set. Boot with it and start the installation. When you get to the package selection part of the installation, uncheck everything but the "Installation Repo". Check "Customize now". Continue on and uncheck every possible package in each package group. Everything. Continue on. For Fedora 12, Anaconda then will install 205 packages. When it's done, reboot as instructed. You will arrive at a login prompt. Login with your root password, and you'll have a runlevel 3 command prompt. That's it. No X. No desktop. But that minimal install has enough stuff installed to connect to the Internet with a wired NIC and download anything else you want. From there, do what you want.
Old 5th April 2010, 02:44 PM
Theodor009 Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

download the networkinstall CD
http://fedoraproject.org/get-fedora-all
uncheck everything in the software selection and install
Old 5th April 2010, 02:47 PM
dataspy Offline

linuxfedorafirefox

Thanks you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Old 5th April 2010, 04:45 PM
smr54 Offline

linuxopera