Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th April 2010, 03:20 PM
Brutuz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Motherboard RAID0?

Hi, I want to run Fedora 12 x86_64 on my 2x500GB RAID0 setup, how would I do this via the BIOS method (I want to dual boot Win7 off the same RAID array) with an AMD SB750 southbridge? I'd prefer not to go software, but if I have to I can and just use the 1TB for 7. (I'd prefer not to as the 1TB is a hotswap drive, mostly from PC to External case)

I'm still pretty new to Linux, so I need full step by step instructions.. (Note: I don't actually have the 1TB Hard Drive or BluRay drive yet, they're still on order)

I searched, but all the results were for Intel's ICH10R or SB600, computer specs are in sig, if there's anything else just say.
__________________
Main Computer:
AMD Phenom II x4 B50 @ 3.7Ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Zotac 9800GT 512MB Synergy Ed | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 4-4-4-12 1T
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb...........| Samsung Spinpoint F1 2x500GB RAID0
Corsair VX550 550w....................| Samsung BluRay reader
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13th April 2010, 05:11 PM
pete_1967 Offline
Clueless in a Cuckooland
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here now, elsewhere tomorrow.
Posts: 4,269
macossafari
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Set the RAID array up according the instructions included with your mother board/ array card. After that, pop in Fedora installation disc and follow the prompts, your onboard RAID controller will take care of the rest.
__________________
A Drink is Not Just For Christmas - SaskyCom :thumb:


“Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime” so now go and...
RTFM FIRST: http://docs.fedoraproject.org/ & http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13th April 2010, 05:28 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
windows_7firefox
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete_1967 View Post
Set the RAID array up according the instructions included with your mother board/ array card. After that, pop in Fedora installation disc and follow the prompts, your onboard RAID controller will take care of the rest.
Not necessarily. As I've pointed out a number of times, these onboard "RAID" cards are often FakeRAID, and require some OS level cognizance of the RAID volume.

As has come up before, there are a number of posts in this forum of people trying their darndest to figure out why Anaconda sees multiple disks even though their "RAID" card should be "taking care of the rest."

Quote:
I want to dual boot Win7 off the same RAID array
Unless you've got a true hardware RAID controller onboard, good luck.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th April 2010, 06:21 PM
pete_1967 Offline
Clueless in a Cuckooland
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here now, elsewhere tomorrow.
Posts: 4,269
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by forkbomb View Post
Not necessarily. As I've pointed out a number of times, these onboard "RAID" cards are often FakeRAID, and require some OS level cognizance of the RAID volume.

As has come up before, there are a number of posts in this forum of people trying their darndest to figure out why Anaconda sees multiple disks even though their "RAID" card should be "taking care of the rest."
I've never had any issues, not with any OS or motheboard, not once. Currently having this desktop with MSI RAID and two servers using different GigaByte RAIDs and one box using ages old MSI RAID controller. Earlier board on this desktop was Asus and didn't have any problems with its on board RAID controller either.

So my bet is, you are more likely to have no problems with them than to have problems with them, therefore it's better baseline to go ahead with using RAID than not because you _may_ have problems with it.
__________________
A Drink is Not Just For Christmas - SaskyCom :thumb:


“Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime” so now go and...
RTFM FIRST: http://docs.fedoraproject.org/ & http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz

Last edited by pete_1967; 13th April 2010 at 06:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th April 2010, 06:25 PM
forkbomb Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,851
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete_1967 View Post
I've never had any issues, not with any OS, not once.
Never run into board shipping FakeRAID? Odd, because desktop-caliber motherboards are almost always shipped with FakeRAID.

Next time you're at the convenience center you should buy some lotto tickets.

edit:
Futhermore I wouldn't trust dual-booting off of a RAID volume if I wasn't darn sure it was hardware RAID.

Beyond that, though, if you have an onboard RAID chip, if your motherboard fries and you didn't buy an extra board as a standby (and who buys a backup mobo?), you may have a recovery issue on your hands.
__________________
- Tom
"What is freedom? To have the will to be responsible for one's self." - Stirner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th April 2010, 06:47 PM
pete_1967 Offline
Clueless in a Cuckooland
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Here now, elsewhere tomorrow.
Posts: 4,269
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by forkbomb View Post
Futhermore I wouldn't trust dual-booting off of a RAID volume if I wasn't darn sure it was hardware RAID.

Beyond that, though, if you have an onboard RAID chip, if your motherboard fries and you didn't buy an extra board as a standby (and who buys a backup mobo?), you may have a recovery issue on your hands.
Unless you're running RAID 1 in which case you just connect disks on new MoBo, configure (or don't) RAID 1 on it and decide which one will be the boot disk.

Wouldn't expect it to succeed with other array types on different board though.
__________________
A Drink is Not Just For Christmas - SaskyCom :thumb:


“Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime” so now go and...
RTFM FIRST: http://docs.fedoraproject.org/ & http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th April 2010, 09:21 PM
Brutuz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Quote:
Originally Posted by forkbomb View Post
Not necessarily. As I've pointed out a number of times, these onboard "RAID" cards are often FakeRAID, and require some OS level cognizance of the RAID volume.

As has come up before, there are a number of posts in this forum of people trying their darndest to figure out why Anaconda sees multiple disks even though their "RAID" card should be "taking care of the rest."


Unless you've got a true hardware RAID controller onboard, good luck.
I've done it before with two different versions of Windows, the BIOS level RAID appears as a RAID array to all OSes and I just need to have drivers for each OS, that's probably the best place to start.. Are there Linux 64bit drivers for the AMD SB750 Southbridge RAID? I can't work it out through trial and error until I get my 1TB drive otherwise I just would.
__________________
Main Computer:
AMD Phenom II x4 B50 @ 3.7Ghz | Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Zotac 9800GT 512MB Synergy Ed | G.Skill 4GB DDR2-800 4-4-4-12 1T
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb...........| Samsung Spinpoint F1 2x500GB RAID0
Corsair VX550 550w....................| Samsung BluRay reader
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
motherboard, raid0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SATA Raid0 FC4 kryptosec Hardware & Laptops 4 3rd November 2006 08:02 PM
Sata Raid0 FC4 kryptosec Using Fedora 1 2nd November 2006 01:03 AM
Changing from an intel cpu/motherboard to amd cpu/motherboard spacelobsters Using Fedora 4 31st August 2006 02:20 PM
WD Raptor Raid0 aepic Hardware & Laptops 0 17th May 2005 09:31 PM
Raid0 setup Ridgerunner Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 0 25th April 2005 04:40 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:04 (Saturday, 26-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat