Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 13th April 2010, 03:20 PM
Brutuz Offline

windows_7firefox
Motherboard RAID0?

Hi, I want to run Fedora 12 x86_64 on my 2x500GB RAID0 setup, how would I do this via the BIOS method (I want to dual boot Win7 off the same RAID array) with an AMD SB750 southbridge? I'd prefer not to go software, but if I have to I can and just use the 1TB for 7. (I'd prefer not to as the 1TB is a hotswap drive, mostly from PC to External case)

I'm still pretty new to Linux, so I need full step by step instructions.. (Note: I don't actually have the 1TB Hard Drive or BluRay drive yet, they're still on order)

I searched, but all the results were for Intel's ICH10R or SB600, computer specs are in sig, if there's anything else just say.
Samsung Spinpoint F3 1Tb...........| Samsung Spinpoint F1 2x500GB RAID0
Corsair VX550 550w....................| Samsung BluRay reader
Old 13th April 2010, 05:11 PM
pete_1967 Offline
Clueless in a Cuckooland

macossafari
Re: Motherboard RAID0?

Set the RAID array up according the instructions included with your mother board/ array card. After that, pop in Fedora installation disc and follow the prompts, your onboard RAID controller will take care of the rest.

“Give a man a fish; you have fed him for today. Teach a man to fish; and you have fed him for a lifetime” so now go and...
RTFM FIRST: http://docs.fedoraproject.org/ & http://rute.2038bug.com/index.html.gz
Old 13th April 2010, 05:28 PM
forkbomb Offline

windows_7firefox

Quote:
Originally Posted by pete_1967 View Post
Set the RAID array up according the instructions included with your mother board/ array card. After that, pop in Fedora installation disc and follow the prompts, your onboard RAID controller will take care of the rest.
Not necessarily. As I've pointed out a number of times, these onboard "RAID" cards are often FakeRAID, and require some OS level cognizance of the RAID volume.