Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th May 2010, 06:11 PM
clanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: York, UK
Posts: 55
linuxsafari
Mobile Broadband on F13

Following the problems which I and others had using mobile broadband devices on F12 has anyone had tried these on F13? Did it work straight from the box without tweaking, or more importantly was the tweaking able to be done without an internet connection?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th May 2010, 03:32 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,373
linuxsafari
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

I've never had problems using Mobile Broadband in Fedora but one of the listed improvements in F13 is NetworkManager.

I would suggest downloading a live cd and trying it. That is the only way to know if the changes have improved things for your modem.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th May 2010, 04:07 AM
carlosmf Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Age: 30
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

working perfectly with huawei e220,
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th May 2010, 04:51 AM
trangkutehd Offline
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozjd View Post
I've never had problems using Mobile Broadband in Fedora but one of the listed improvements in F13 is NetworkManager.

I would suggest downloading a live cd and trying it. That is the only way to know if the changes have improved things for your modem.
me too u
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th May 2010, 06:35 AM
DCOH Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Circleville, Ohio
Age: 67
Posts: 475
linuxfedoramozilla
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

With a little work my qualcom broadband modem with the gobi loader works fine in F13
__________________
Dan
Registered Linux user #432525
Linux Box # 337563
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th May 2010, 12:50 PM
weitjong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore, 新加坡
Posts: 948
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

I have a Huawei E169. It works out of the box for me in F13. Even better, this time upon plugged in the USB dongle the NetworkManager shows a wizard type of screen to guide through the setup process. Heck it even lists my local ISPs in Singapore correctly.
__________________
YaoWT - Leave no window unbroken ♪ (^。^) 
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30th May 2010, 12:51 PM
clanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: York, UK
Posts: 55
linuxsafari
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

Quote:
Originally Posted by carlosmf View Post
working perfectly with huawei e220,
Fantastic, thanks!

The issue I had in F12 would have been a non-issue if I had a wired connection as well, but as mobile is presently my only internet connection it kind of needs to work!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31st May 2010, 04:14 PM
clanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: York, UK
Posts: 55
linuxsafari
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

Quote:
Originally Posted by weitjong View Post
I have a Huawei E169. It works out of the box for me in F13. Even better, this time upon plugged in the USB dongle the NetworkManager shows a wizard type of screen to guide through the setup process. Heck it even lists my local ISPs in Singapore correctly.
OK, I'm not getting this wizard, NetworkManager seems to be detecting the device OK, I get the mobile icon in the system tray, when I hover over the icon it shows as not connected.

If I click on the icon there is a "create network connection" option which gives an applet window asking for various info, but no wizard, none of the info that the applet window is asking for seems to be applicable and it doesn't ask for my service provider anywhere.

This is with Huawei 169, F13 x86-64 and KDE, am I just doing it wrong?

EDIT: now have it working, just manually added the number and APN values from my F12 connection, still curious as to why the wizard thing didn't work, i wonder if it is only in Gnome?

Last edited by clanky; 31st May 2010 at 04:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31st May 2010, 05:45 PM
weitjong Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singapore, 新加坡
Posts: 948
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

I am using Gnome. We are probably talking about the same screen, I have not used KDE for a long time. I attached the screenshots for comparison.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot1.png
Views:	121
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	19603Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot2.png
Views:	121
Size:	29.2 KB
ID:	19604Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot3.png
Views:	115
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	19605Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot4.png
Views:	120
Size:	32.4 KB
ID:	19606Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot5.png
Views:	116
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	19607
__________________
YaoWT - Leave no window unbroken ♪ (^。^) 
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31st May 2010, 10:44 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
windows_7opera
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

Works great with my Sierra Wireless 881 AirCard (AT&T). Just went through the setup wizard and I was good to go!
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 3rd June 2010, 09:48 AM
i003783 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
windows_7firefox
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

I had no problem with Huawei E220 up to FC11, In FC12 it did not work and I had to update NetworkManager and ModemManager, that resolved my issue. Just upgraded to FC13 and guess what it's NOT working, why is this surely you should have the latest versions of these two packages installed.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 3rd June 2010, 10:24 AM
i003783 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
windows_7firefox
Unhappy Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

Attached is the messages file from /var/log/
Attached Files
File Type: txt messages.txt (590.5 KB, 362 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 3rd June 2010, 10:30 AM
sej7278 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,008
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

i'd like to have a go at this mobile broadband soon, what suppliers do you guys use? i'd be interested in uk/france/spain really.

as i understand it you just buy a 30 day contract and they give you a usb device, it doesn't seem you can chose your own like a huawei model.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th June 2010, 05:05 PM
clanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: York, UK
Posts: 55
linuxsafari
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

Quote:
Originally Posted by i003783 View Post
I had no problem with Huawei E220 up to FC11, In FC12 it did not work and I had to update NetworkManager and ModemManager, that resolved my issue. Just upgraded to FC13 and guess what it's NOT working, why is this surely you should have the latest versions of these two packages installed.
Which DE are you using?

How far are you getting with it, does network manager recognise that you have a mobile broadband device plugged in?

NM was sensing a network device on my set-up, but wouldn't connect, I booted up my f12 install and manually copied the number and APN info from there into the network manager configuration screen in f13. Do you still have a working f12 install?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12th June 2010, 08:29 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,373
linuxsafari
Re: Mobile Broadband on F13

I finally got to test on an installed F13 and found no problems. I am using KDE with knetworkmanager and didn't get the wizard but after entering the standard number and apn it worked. Fedora recognises my modem as a Huawei E620.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broadband, f13, mobile

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F12 Mobile broadband ZTE MF628 TiPo Hardware & Laptops 2 17th July 2010 08:15 PM
mobile broadband in fedora rudra-b Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 3 19th February 2010 04:27 PM
problem in mobile broadband rudra-b Servers & Networking 2 15th February 2010 10:38 PM
mobile broadband in f12 rudra-b Servers & Networking 2 13th December 2009 11:46 AM
Fedora 11 Mobile Broadband dbeer Hardware & Laptops 6 31st August 2009 02:01 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:55 (Friday, 21-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Castanhal Photos - Herowabad Instagram Photos - Manokwari Instagram Photos