Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th July 2010, 08:46 PM
mikequest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 49
linuxfedorafirefox
lan connections troubleshooting

Hello everyone
I've installed fedora 12 at work on a lan aside with windoze xp, ( where only windozes are connected ) but the I can't surf the net (or yum update ) as I do on windoze xp, I 'm given a static ip to assign to my eth0 card of the kind 172.16.15.50 + gateway 172.16.15.1 + a dns ip of the same kind , using a default config fedora 12 install
the network manager service is down.

please help me troubleshoot this, as I don't know if the sys and network admin will be very "cooperative"

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20th July 2010, 09:07 PM
rmbrady Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 91
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: lan connections troubleshooting

Hi
Open a terminal and run
Quote:
[robert@sun ~]$ ifconfig -a

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1E:8C:9B:B9:7C
inet addr:192.168.220.9 Bcast:192.168.220.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21e:8cff:fe9b:b97c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:1191 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1336 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:790775 (772.2 KiB) TX bytes:408218 (398.6 KiB)
Interrupt:28 Base address:0xe000
This should show your address (172.16.15.50), and UP

If you have an address, can you ping the gateway ( My gateway is 192.168.220.254 )

Quote:
[robert@sun ~]$ ping 192.168.220.254
PING 192.168.220.254 (192.168.220.254) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.220.254: icmp_seq=1 ttl=255 time=1.23 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.220.254: icmp_seq=2 ttl=255 time=1.19 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.220.254: icmp_seq=3 ttl=255 time=1.19 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.220.254: icmp_seq=4 ttl=255 time=1.19 ms
^C
--- 192.168.220.254 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3087ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 1.191/1.204/1.239/0.046 ms
If you can ping the gateway, check the DNS is working with
Quote:
[robert@sun ~]$ host forums.fedoraforum.org
forums.fedoraforum.org has address 208.43.111.170
If all of the above are working, does the webbrowser require a proxy setting ?
__________________
------------------------------------------
A lost packet on the Internet of life
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20th July 2010, 09:22 PM
mikequest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 49
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: lan connections troubleshooting

Thanks replying
I'm not now at work but I've tried ifconfig and it shows the eth0 card is up, i 'll try "ifconfig -a" once I get there, and yes I can ping the gateway.
I haven't checked DNS yet
there is no proxy settings to do,

I'll keep you informed
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20th July 2010, 11:22 PM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxopera
Re: lan connections troubleshooting

Assuming you can ping the gateway, I also like to check that it can get beyond the gateway.

ping 4.2.2.2

is the address I find easiest to remember, a publicly accessible DNS server--Verizon's, I think.

If you can ping that, but can't ping something by name, e.g., google.com or yahoo.com, then you know the issue is a DNS issue. If you can't reach 4.2.2.2 by number, then it's a routing issue.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd July 2010, 04:55 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,553
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: lan connections troubleshooting

smr54 -

It's not related to the OP but 4.2.2.2 is a backbone dns (backup) service operated by Level3/GTE (is that Verizon?) and not "public" in the sense of free for all to abuse.
It's downright rude to us it for testing.

Please use 8.8.8.8 (even easier to remember) or 8.8.4.4 which are freely accessible public google dns servers.
http://theos.in/windows-xp/free-fast...s-server-list/
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Last edited by stevea; 22nd July 2010 at 05:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd July 2010, 05:14 AM
smr54 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxopera
Re: lan connections troubleshooting

Thank you. I'll keep that in mind.

And, you're quite right--it's easier to remember 8.8.8.8
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22nd July 2010, 05:35 AM
kurtdriver Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 1,349
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: lan connections troubleshooting

This is something that might cost you your job if you are not authorized to use the network. I wouldn't underestimate the admins. It's not difficult to watch for new hardware.
Maybe you can persuade management to let you use your OS?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
connections, lan, troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting Help Needed! CraigWatson Wibble 11 9th September 2008 10:35 AM
avidemux troubleshooting lazlow Using Fedora 2 11th February 2006 09:40 PM
NFS Troubleshooting radl33t Using Fedora 8 9th August 2005 12:16 PM
Troubleshooting X.org my way ilja Guides & Solutions (No Questions) 3 26th November 2004 09:35 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:08 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat