Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 23rd July 2010, 12:26 PM
tasm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
linuxepiphany
Install up2date instead of PackageKit

Hi,

this is a kind of strange question but is it possible to use up2date-gnome-applet on Fedora 13? I loved the clean and stable update mechanism used in FC 3 but I am unsure whether it will also work with F 13.

For those who can't remember: Take a look at the red icon in the panel:



I queried yum for rhn-packages and found the following:

Code:
$ yum search rhn
Geladene Plugins: presto, refresh-packagekit
================================= Matched: rhn =================================
rhn-check.noarch : Check for RHN actions
rhn-setup.noarch : Configure and register an RHN/Spacewalk client
rhn-setup-gnome.noarch : A GUI interface for RHN/Spacewalk Registration
rhnlib.noarch : Python libraries for the RHN project
rhncfg.noarch : Red Hat Network Configuration Client Libraries
rhncfg-actions.noarch : Red Hat Network Configuration Client Actions
rhncfg-client.noarch : Red Hat Network Configuration Client
rhncfg-management.noarch : Red Hat Network Configuration Management Client
rhnpush.noarch : Package uploader for the Red Hat Network Satellite Server
yum-rhn-plugin.noarch : RHN support for yum
mrepo.noarch : A tool to set up a yum/apt mirror from various sources
rhn-client-tools.noarch : Support programs and libraries for Red Hat Network or
                        : Spacewalk
rhnsd.x86_64 : Red Hat Network query daemon
Can I use one or more of the packages to get the old mechanism back?
I tried to find some information about yum-rhn-plugin but I was unable to find a way to use the old up2date-applet.

Maybe somebody is able to help me.

Thanks in advance,

tasm
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 23rd July 2010, 01:54 PM
zQUEz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 6
windows_7ie
Re: Install up2date instead of PackageKit

up2date has been replaced with YUM, even for RHEL5+.
At best you could try and locate and compile from source, though I doubt your chances of success are good.
I would learn to use YUM.
Personally, I can't stand any package management GUI ... I use YUM via commandline and can't see whatelse the GUI version offers other than annoying icons. As with anything commandline, you have to learn the commands, but once you have that - it's very easy for YUM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd July 2010, 01:58 PM
tasm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 42
linuxepiphany
Re: Install up2date instead of PackageKit

Thanks for your answer. I am using Fedora since FC 2 and I am familiar with yum. This is more a "historical" thing. I will try to find the sources.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd July 2010, 06:16 PM
PabloTwo Offline
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,209
linuxfirefox
Re: Install up2date instead of PackageKit

Looks like the last "up2date" rpm package for Fedora was for FC4. A search at rpm.pbone.net turned up =1&field[]=2]these files. Good luck at getting the dependencies for any of those old up2date packages installed on a newer Fedora release.

---------- Post added at 01:16 PM CDT ---------- Previous post was at 01:13 PM CDT ----------

Too many square brackets in the url link above caused it to display weirdly, but the link still works OK.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
install, packagekit, up2date

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Loaded plugins: refresh-packagekit [error using yum install xmms-np3] z99 Using Fedora 2 15th August 2009 04:04 AM
PackageKit gnome-packagekit 4.5 SlowJet Alpha, Beta & Snapshots Discussions (Fedora 11 Only) 11 13th March 2009 12:48 AM
update or install using packagekit in Fedora 10 croshong Using Fedora 2 9th March 2009 10:02 AM
Is it safe to update dbus now ? shall I install gnome-packagekit now ? m.nassar Using Fedora 2 29th December 2008 02:45 PM
I killed PackageKit during an install, now software sources are gone hammerwalk Using Fedora 8 9th December 2008 01:25 AM


Current GMT-time: 12:20 (Saturday, 20-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
...Creek Side - Stockholm-Arlanda Airport (ARN) Travel Photos on Instagram - Marina of Koper Travel Photos - Te Whiti Park Instagram Photos - Texas State Fair Photos on Instagram