Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 21st October 2004, 07:00 PM
Paladine Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Boot Sequence

Hi there, I am new to Linux and Fedora in particular, and as a newbie I have a question about something to do with linux.

When I boot up Fedora there is the screen of various components being loaded and the big green OK for each load completion. I have one Failed load with starting smartd

What is this? Smart Drive (like in windows) ?


Should I be worried about it?

I am using Fedora Core 2, on a P3 933Mhz Intel Computer, 1GB of PC133 Ram, 80GB WD Hard Drive, Asus CUV4X Motherboard, and Nvidia Ti4200 128MB Video Card if that makes things any easier.

Thanks in advance for any help!
__________________
Paladine :cool:
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21st October 2004, 07:08 PM
sayeeth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Singapore
Age: 34
Posts: 661
Smartd means Self Monitoring and Reporting Technology (SMART) Daemon. A feature more commonly seen in newer HDDs. It informs user if the HDD is becoming faulty or goes faulty or any other message. You have to enable S.M.A.R.T on your BIOS for this to take effect. See if that helps.
__________________
[sayeeth@somebody ~]$ kill bill
bash: kill: bill: arguments must be process or job IDs
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21st October 2004, 07:17 PM
tchung Offline
FedoraNEWS.org Admin
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: California, US
Posts: 561
Review your /etc/smartd.conf file and make necessary changes.
By default , it checks for ATA/IDE hard disk. If you have SCSI hard disk, you need to update the above config file.

If you wish to turn it off, you can type "chkconfig smartd off"

Thomas
__________________
Thomas Chung
http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/ThomasChung
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21st October 2004, 07:26 PM
Paladine Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Hey thanks folks. Appreciate the quick replies.

I thought it would be something like that. Have to check my bios, but I am pretty sure I have it enabled.

Oh well.... Thanks again!
__________________
Paladine :cool:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, sequence

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error in boot sequence blurwi Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 6 15th September 2005 01:52 PM
Boot sequence aepic Using Fedora 3 12th September 2005 02:06 AM
Dual boot sequence Andy53981 Using Fedora 2 5th September 2005 02:17 AM


Current GMT-time: 00:05 (Saturday, 29-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
The Exclusive Pattanakran44 Photos - Pont Canal de Briare Instagram Photos