Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 16th October 2010, 03:15 AM
james2b Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
windows_xp_2003firefox
Question nouveau nvidia display how to enable it

I just installed Fedora 13 from live CD, and all updated too, have a nvidia Geforce 7300 GS video card in this 2006 Gateway AMD desktop multi-booting with some Linux and XP, and the desktop effects says it can not enable that due to 3D acceleration not available. So I did go in the package manager to check for this nouveau nvidia display driver, which shows as it is installed, but how do I fully enable it ? Does Fedora 13 use the grub 2 or old legacy grub 1?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16th October 2010, 04:22 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,365
linuxchrome
Re: nouveau nvidia display how to enable it

Nouveau doesn't provide 3d. For 3d you need to install the proprietary Nvidia drivers, see the link to Leigh's thread in my signature or the mesa drivers. To do that type as root

yum install mesa-dri-drivers-experimental

Last edited by ozjd; 16th October 2010 at 04:22 AM. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th October 2010, 08:21 PM
james2b Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 27
windows_xp_2003firefox
Smile Re: nouveau nvidia display how to enable it

With the included nouveau nvidia driver, is that good enough display for standard every day type computer use, and no games. Also can I just search for, find, and install the propriety NVIDIA display driver with the package manager. ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th October 2010, 10:59 PM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: nouveau nvidia display how to enable it

http://nouveau.freedesktop.org/wiki/

Quote:
KernelModeSetting (KMS) is mandatory
Suspend and resume is working for many chips

2D support is in fairly good shape with EXA acceleration, Xv and Randr12 (dual-head, rotations, etc.).

Any 3D functionality that might exist is still unsupported. Do not ask for instructions to try it. But you can read GalliumHowto in case you are brave enough.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th October 2010, 03:34 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,365
linuxchrome
Re: nouveau nvidia display how to enable it

Quote:
Originally Posted by james2b View Post
With the included nouveau nvidia driver, is that good enough display for standard every day type computer use, and no games. Also can I just search for, find, and install the propriety NVIDIA display driver with the package manager. ?
As Dexta pointed out the nouveau driver is fine for everyday use if you don't need 3d. You do need 3d for desktop effects and things like Google Earth.

No you can't just install the drivers with the package manager. You need to follow all the steps in the guide. Miss any and it won't work and you probably won't have a graphical desktop. It isn't difficult, Leigh has refined it over many versions.

There may be another option for installing drivers. Search for Autoten. It will automatically install many things and complete all the need steps, I understand. Haven't tried it but many others recommend it.

Last edited by ozjd; 17th October 2010 at 03:36 AM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th October 2010, 05:00 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: nouveau nvidia display how to enable it

Autoten doesn't do the video drivers.. It does do great on the audio and video codecs, though

Another plus is that after you run autoten for the audio/video codecs, you will have the rpmfusion repos installed which is the first step in installing the nvidia drivers.

And ozjd gave you the best advice on installing the nvidia drivers if you decide that you want to install them. Leigh's guide is the best out there. follow it, and you will have them installed and running in no time.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
display, enable, nouveau, nvidia

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to disable nouveau and use binary NVIDIA from nvidia.com johabba Fedora 13 Development Branch 5 19th April 2010 10:49 PM
How do I re-enable the nouveau driver? dth4h Using Fedora 0 11th December 2009 04:41 PM
Enable Nouveau KMS 0L1V3R Hardware & Laptops 0 26th June 2009 02:26 PM
FC6 "nvidia-config-display enable" error henterac3 Hardware & Laptops 11 11th March 2007 05:13 AM
howto enable nvidia tv-out or dual display on FC3 nelwa Using Fedora 3 2nd March 2005 02:43 PM


Current GMT-time: 18:59 (Tuesday, 02-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat