Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th November 2010, 11:22 AM
bonaparte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

Helllo,

This laptop has a Broadcom chipset.

lspci
[snip]
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation Device 075e (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SMBus (rev a1)
00:01.3 Co-processor: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Co-Processor (rev a2)
00:01.4 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] OHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev a1)
00:04.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] EHCI USB 2.0 Controller (rev a1)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] IDE (rev a1)
00:07.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP72XE/MCP72P/MCP78U/MCP78S High Definition Audio (rev a1)
00:08.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:09.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] SATA Controller (non-AHCI mode) (rev a2)
00:0a.0 Ethernet controller: nVidia Corporation MCP77 Ethernet (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Express Bridge (rev a1)
00:14.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP78S [GeForce 8200] PCI Bridge (rev a1)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Processor Link Control
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C77 [GeForce 8200M G] (rev a2)
07:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY (rev 01)
[/snip]

I have been using the kmod-wl package from RPMFusion on Fedora 12. I have now wiped everything on the machine and installed Fedora 14 x86_64. I have enabled the RPMFusion free and non free repositories. I have also updated all the packages. I installed broad-wl package using yum. But still I'm unable to get wifi to work.

When I right click the NetworkManager icon, a pull down menu appears. In the pull down menu items, when I click Enable Wireless, nothing happens. The Enable Wireless option stays unchecked.

How can I get my wifi to work?

Here's some more info:
[snip]
[root@localhost ~]# iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:54 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Managementmode:All packets received
Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=0 dBm Noise level=0 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

eth0 no wireless extensions.

[root@localhost ~]#

[/snip]

[snip]
[root@localhost ~]# ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1D:72:665:AC
inet addr:192.168.1.3 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21d:72ff:fe66:d5ac/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2407 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2165 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2590831 (2.4 MiB) TX bytes:531168 (518.7 KiB)
Interrupt:42

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:1584 (1.5 KiB) TX bytes:1584 (1.5 KiB)

[root@localhost ~]#


[/snip]
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th November 2010, 01:56 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

I would confirm what is installed and what kernel is running...
Code:
rpm -qa | grep -e kernel -e kmod-wl -e broadcom-wl | sort
uname -r
If all of that made sense, then confirm that the wl module is being loaded...
Code:
lsmod | sort
Sometimes, people have to manually load it...
Code:
su
modprobe wl
service NetworkManager restart
If that worked, then add that modprobe command to /etc/rc.local.

If you saw conflicting modules in the lsmod report, then try blacklisting them. People often blacklist ssb when using broadcom-wl.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th November 2010, 03:17 PM
bonaparte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

Thanks for the reply. Here's the information you asked for:

[snip]
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa | grep -e kernel -e kmod-wl -e broadcom-wl | sort
abrt-addon-kerneloops-1.1.14-1.fc14.x86_64
broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch
kernel-2.6.35.6-45.fc14.x86_64
kernel-2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64
kmod-wl-2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64
[/snip]

[snip]
[root@localhost ~]# uname -r
2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64
[/snip]

[snip]
[root@localhost ~]# lsmod | sort
ata_generic 3475 0
cpufreq_ondemand 9278 2
drm 177972 4 nouveau,ttm,drm_kms_helper
drm_kms_helper 25743 1 nouveau
edac_core 41336 0
edac_mce_amd 7871 0
forcedeth 48795 0
freq_table 3955 2 cpufreq_ondemand,powernow_k8
fuse 61363 3
hp_wmi 6087 0
i2c_algo_bit 5205 1 nouveau
i2c_core 26900 6 videodev,i2c_nforce2,nouveau,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2 c_algo_bit
i2c_nforce2 6718 0
ip6table_filter 1687 1
ip6_tables 17481 1 ip6table_filter
ip6t_REJECT 4279 2
ipv6 286249 34 ip6t_REJECT,nf_conntrack_ipv6
joydev 9737 0
k10temp 3391 0
lib80211 5095 2 lib80211_crypt_tkip,wl
lib80211_crypt_tkip 7987 0
microcode 18548 0
Module Size Used by
mperf 1481 1 powernow_k8
nf_conntrack_ipv6 18078 2
nouveau 410336 2
output 2253 1 video
pata_acpi 3451 0
pata_amd 11314 0
powernow_k8 16374 0
rfkill 17622 1 hp_wmi
serio_raw 4640 0
shpchp 30251 0
snd 63968 13 snd_hda_codec_nvhdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hd a_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_seq,snd_seq_de vice,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_hda_codec 86743 3 snd_hda_codec_nvhdmi,snd_hda_codec_conexant,snd_hd a_intel
snd_hda_codec_conexant 41923 1
snd_hda_codec_nvhdmi 13724 1
snd_hda_intel 24399 2
snd_hwdep 6392 1 snd_hda_codec
snd_page_alloc 7559 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
snd_pcm 80190 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_seq 53791 0
snd_seq_device 6191 1 snd_seq
snd_timer 19892 2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
soundcore 6576 1 snd
sunrpc 201180 1
ttm 55006 1 nouveau
uinput 7368 0
usb_storage 45875 0
uvcvideo 55489 0
v4l1_compat 12970 2 uvcvideo,videodev
v4l2_compat_ioctl32 9853 1 videodev
video 21637 1 nouveau
videodev 41889 1 uvcvideo
wl 1961114 0
wmi 8138 1 hp_wmi
[/snip]

I tried restarting NetworkManager. I also manually loaded the module using modproble wl. I don't see ssb loaded. I still don't see any wifi networks. I can't enable wireless in NetworkManager.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30th November 2010, 03:45 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

The kmod-wl metapackage was not listed in what you posted from the rpm query. But I'm sure it just got cut off in the copy and paste maneuver since since it is a dependency that yum would not have agreed to leave out and since the wl module is loading.

Next, I would start thinking about things that could be disabling the adapter (it happens all the time). Some things to consider are a physical switch somewhere on the computer or adapter, a software switch or hotkey, a BIOS setting, or rfkill. See here for an rfkill example...
http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=245404
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30th November 2010, 04:12 PM
bonaparte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

kmod-wl-2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64 is listed in the rpm query result. Are you referring to another package?

The hard switch is on. The BIOS is set to defaults. I tried the rfid kill by executing the commands:
# yum install rfkill
# rfkill unblock wifi
# shutdown -r 0

The Enable Wireless button is greyed out.

---------- Post added at 09:42 PM GMT ---------- Previous post was at 09:31 PM GMT ----------

After rebooting the computer, I checked /var/log/messages and found this:
[snip]
tail -f /var/log/messages
Nov 30 21:38:46 localhost NetworkManager[1204]: <error> [1291133326.682221] [nm-manager.c:1332] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
Nov 30 21:38:48 localhost kernel: [ 125.029598] fuse init (API version 7.14)
Nov 30 21:38:49 localhost rtkit-daemon[1698]: Successfully made thread 1873 of process 1873 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by '500' high priority at nice level -11.
Nov 30 21:38:49 localhost pulseaudio[1873]: pid.c: Daemon already running.
Nov 30 21:38:50 localhost rtkit-daemon[1698]: Successfully made thread 1888 of process 1888 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by '500' high priority at nice level -11.
Nov 30 21:38:50 localhost pulseaudio[1888]: pid.c: Stale PID file, overwriting.
Nov 30 21:38:50 localhost rtkit-daemon[1698]: Successfully made thread 1892 of process 1888 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by '500' RT at priority 5.
Nov 30 21:38:50 localhost rtkit-daemon[1698]: Successfully made thread 1893 of process 1888 (/usr/bin/pulseaudio) owned by '500' RT at priority 5.
Nov 30 21:38:50 localhost pulseaudio[1888]: bluetooth-util.c: Error from ListAdapters reply: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.Spawn.ChildExited
Nov 30 21:38:57 localhost dbus-daemon: [system] Rejected send message, 2 matched rules; type="method_call", sender=":1.46" (uid=500 pid=1870 comm="nautilus) interface="org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties" member="GetAll" error name="(unset)" requested_reply=0 destination=":1.14" (uid=0 pid=1574 comm="/usr/sbin/console-kit-daemon))
[/snip]

As documented in https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=633501 I executed the command:
[snip]
touch /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.NetworkManager.policy
[/snip]

After rebooting again, I still see the error in log:
[snip]
Nov 30 21:38:46 localhost NetworkManager[1204]: <error> [1291133326.682221] [nm-manager.c:1332] user_proxy_init(): could not init user settings proxy: (3) Could not get owner of name 'org.freedesktop.NetworkManagerUserSettings': no such name
[/snip]

Enable Wireless in NetworkManager is still greyed out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th November 2010, 04:29 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

I would have expected to see these installed...
broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch.rpm
kmod-wl-2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64.rpm
kmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64.rpm
That last one is the kernel metapackage.

I also would have expected the issue in that bug report to be fixed by Fedora 14. I'm not seeing it anyway. But here is one other thing of interest from the bug report...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugzilla #633501

Alternatively, WiFi can be enabled using the command:

nmcli nm wifi on

or disabled using the command:

nmcli nm wifi off
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 6th December 2010, 10:37 AM
bonaparte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

I was surprised kmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64 was not installed earlier. I have now installed it

[snip]
[root@localhost ~]# rpm -qa | grep -e kernel -e kmod-wl -e broadcom-wl | sort
abrt-addon-kerneloops-1.1.14-1.fc14.x86_64
broadcom-wl-5.60.48.36-1.fc13.noarch
kernel-2.6.35.6-45.fc14.x86_64
kernel-2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64
kmod-wl-2.6.35.6-48.fc14.x86_64-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64
kmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64
[root@localhost ~]#
[/snip]

I have made sure the hardware wifi switch is on. I have also verified that wifi is not disabled in BIOS settings. I have also tried rfkill as per http://fedoraforum.org/forum/showthread.php?t=245404

I have also tried to enable wifi using nm cli
[snip]
nmcli nm wifi on
[/snip]

After doing all these things, NetworkManager still won't recognize wifi networks.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th December 2010, 10:39 AM
bonaparte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

For some reason, the post I made did not appear here.

I have installed the package kmod-wl-5.60.48.36-2.fc14.2.x86_64

I have tried rfkill. I have also tried enabling wifi using nm cli. Stiil, NetworkManager doesn't list any wifi networks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th December 2010, 12:49 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

Try manually loading the driver module. Some people have to do that...
Code:
su
modprobe wl
service NetworkManager restart
Give that several seconds to get going. Then check the NetworkManager panel icon for available networks.

If that worked, then add that modprobe command to /etc/rc.local.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th December 2010, 02:21 PM
bonaparte Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

Thanks for the quick reply. I tried what you suggested. NetworkManager doesn't list any wifi networks.

The Enable Wireless option is greyed out.

---------- Post added at 07:51 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:40 PM ----------

It appears the issue is caused by the bug which is reported at https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=655322#c2
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th December 2010, 08:43 PM
JoeF Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: U.S., Michigan
Posts: 92
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoat View Post
I would confirm what is installed and what kernel is running...
Code:
rpm -qa | grep -e kernel -e kmod-wl -e broadcom-wl | sort
uname -r
If all of that made sense, then confirm that the wl module is being loaded...
Code:
lsmod | sort
Sometimes, people have to manually load it...
Code:
su
modprobe wl
service NetworkManager restart
If that worked, then add that modprobe command to /etc/rc.local.

If you saw conflicting modules in the lsmod report, then try blacklisting them. People often blacklist ssb when using broadcom-wl.
Not to hijack the thread, but this worked for me to get my wireless going again after FC14 did a core-update, BUT I'm not sure as to how to install this in the /etc/rc.local directory. Can you give step by step details on this part too please?

Thank You,
Joe
__________________
JoeF
****************************
FC16, HPdv5 Intel Core2 Duo T6400 w/4gbRAM :cool:
Started with FC6. Fedora has made Great Improvements!! Keep it up.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 6th December 2010, 08:58 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

You can open /etc/rc.local with gedit and type the modprobe wl command line at the end. You will need root privileges to edit that file. I had to do the same thing to make the floppy module load. My example...
Code:
sudo cat /etc/rc.local
#!/bin/sh
#
# This script will be executed *after* all the other init scripts.
# You can put your own initialization stuff in here if you don't
# want to do the full Sys V style init stuff.

touch /var/lock/subsys/local
modprobe floppy
You can do that same thing for the wl module. Or you can echo it in there...
Code:
su
echo "modprobe wl" >> /etc/rc.local
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 7th December 2010, 12:49 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,330
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

just a question, stoat..

what is the difference in putting the modprobe commands in /etc/rc.local as opposed to putting them /etc/rc.modules?

I noticed that you have your modprobe floppy command in rc.local and I have mine in rc.modprobe

I am sure there is a difference in them, so I was just wondering what the difference is
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 7th December 2010, 05:02 AM
JoeF Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: U.S., Michigan
Posts: 92
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

When I try to edit the /etc/rc.local, I get the following error:

[root@Joes-dv5 Joe]# gedit /etc/rc.local
(gedit:7788): EggSMClient-WARNING **: Failed to connect to the session manager: None of the authentication protocols specified are supported
**
GLib-GIO:ERROR:gdbusconnection.c:2270:initable_init: assertion failed: (connection->initialization_error == NULL)
Aborted (core dumped)
[root@Joes-dv5 Joe]#

what did I do wrong here?
__________________
JoeF
****************************
FC16, HPdv5 Intel Core2 Duo T6400 w/4gbRAM :cool:
Started with FC6. Fedora has made Great Improvements!! Keep it up.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 7th December 2010, 06:57 AM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,330
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to get Broadcom wifi to work

use su - instead of su

su -
gedit /etc/rc.local

The - tells su to create a logon environment for root.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broadcom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get wifi to work on an Hp dv9000 laptop. (BCM4311 Broadcom) Dabode Hardware & Laptops 15 8th April 2009 01:22 PM
problems with Broadcom wifi w/ Fedora 9 parminides Servers & Networking 30 28th October 2008 06:44 PM
Enlightenment and Broadcom WIFI tip and curious question TheMadIndian Servers & Networking 2 20th December 2007 03:35 AM
FC 4 -64-wifi broadcom knavely Hardware & Laptops 12 14th November 2005 09:05 AM
Fedora Core 4 and Broadcom wifi mini-pci grathabba Hardware & Laptops 1 22nd October 2005 06:12 PM


Current GMT-time: 04:49 (Saturday, 01-11-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Jaguariaiva - Giron Travel Photos on Instagram - Otsu-shi Travel Photos