Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 30th November 2010, 08:40 PM
korpenkraxar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide?

Hi all!

There is a new version of Gnome Shell available in rawhide which I would like to try out. However, it pulls in much of Gnome 3 and a very recent version of xulrunner+Firefox.

What is state of these libraries in rawhide? Completely broken or pseudo-stable enough for usage if one can put up with occasional crashes?

Last edited by korpenkraxar; 30th November 2010 at 08:46 PM.
  #2  
Old 2nd December 2010, 12:19 AM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,204
linuxfirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

if you're asking if you should install this on top of f14, no, by all accounts, no. it'll break stuff badly.

if you're asking if you run a complete current rawhide, do things more or less work, the answer is yes, with a few quibbles. I'm running it now, including Shell. it works.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #3  
Old 2nd December 2010, 12:31 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide?

Quote:
Originally Posted by korpenkraxar View Post
Hi all!

There is a new version of Gnome Shell available in rawhide which I would like to try out. However, it pulls in much of Gnome 3 and a very recent version of xulrunner+Firefox.

What is state of these libraries in rawhide? Completely broken or pseudo-stable enough for usage if one can put up with occasional crashes?
your best way is to Create a another Partition 10Gigs and install F15 ( RawHide ) on that, that way you'll have the stable Release aswell as Rawhide to boot into
  #4  
Old 2nd December 2010, 09:34 AM
korpenkraxar Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 26
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

@AdamW & @detox:

So it seems Rawhide is in a fairly ok shape this early on in the release cycle. Yeah, I look at having a separate partition for F15 and determined whether the I should use the same /home and user account among them (which would be easier if Linux had a more straightforward way of bundling .configs into profiles). Thanks for your feedback.
  #5  
Old 2nd December 2010, 09:48 AM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

Quote:
Originally Posted by korpenkraxar View Post
@AdamW & @detox:

So it seems Rawhide is in a fairly ok shape this early on in the release cycle. Yeah, I look at having a separate partition for F15 and determined whether the I should use the same /home and user account among them (which would be easier if Linux had a more straightforward way of bundling .configs into profiles). Thanks for your feedback.
i would use a New Fresh /home , dont share.. its like installing Firefox3 and then installing Firefox4. you should never share profiles.
  #6  
Old 7th December 2010, 03:37 AM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,204
linuxfirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

yeah, I wouldn't share a /home between GNOME 2 and GNOME 3. No specific data, but I'm fairly sure it could get odd. The problems usually come when you use data from the *later* desktop on the *earlier* one; the developers will usually make sure your config from the older software will migrate properly to the newer, but they won't make sure you can use the newer config data with the older release.

For me right now F15 is at decent Alpha quality. There's buglets around the place, but I can run the major stuff and do my work. Firefox crashes every time you download a file (so use wget), Evo had some text rendering issues which seem to have gone away now, gnome-terminal crashes mysteriously after half an hour of any session and Terminal leaks memory like crazy so I'm using lxterminal instead...that kinda thing.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #7  
Old 7th December 2010, 10:25 AM
hellnest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamW View Post
yeah, I wouldn't share a /home between GNOME 2 and GNOME 3. No specific data, but I'm fairly sure it could get odd. The problems usually come when you use data from the *later* desktop on the *earlier* one; the developers will usually make sure your config from the older software will migrate properly to the newer, but they won't make sure you can use the newer config data with the older release.

For me right now F15 is at decent Alpha quality. There's buglets around the place, but I can run the major stuff and do my work. Firefox crashes every time you download a file (so use wget), Evo had some text rendering issues which seem to have gone away now, gnome-terminal crashes mysteriously after half an hour of any session and Terminal leaks memory like crazy so I'm using lxterminal instead...that kinda thing.
It's a gnome related issue or it's a F15 / Kernel issue? I'm downloading rawhide right now . Do i need a 3D acclerated Card to run Gnome 3 / Shell ?
  #8  
Old 7th December 2010, 05:36 PM
Igby Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bremen, Germany
Posts: 18
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellnest View Post
It's a gnome related issue or it's a F15 / Kernel issue? I'm downloading rawhide right now . Do i need a 3D acclerated Card to run Gnome 3 / Shell ?
Short question, short answer: Yes!

Igby
__________________
There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die.
  #9  
Old 7th December 2010, 05:39 PM
hellnest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
linuxchrome
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

Quote:
Originally Posted by Igby View Post
Short question, short answer: Yes!

Igby
Yes for which question? I had three question in a row
  #10  
Old 7th December 2010, 10:45 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,204
linuxfirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

well, there's different issues. I don't know exactly what you're asking is a GNOME or f15/kernel (what?) issue. Yes, you do need a card with 3D support.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #11  
Old 8th December 2010, 05:58 AM
hellnest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
linuxubuntuchrome
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

Well it's confirmed and breaking my system... @)@ the x server try to load a module which is not supported by my card. Not 3D ready only 2D acceleration. Well i guess i must put my hope down to run rawhide / F15 in future
  #12  
Old 9th December 2010, 08:22 PM
simpleblue Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 110
linuxchrome
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

I've just downloaded the Fedora Nightly Compose. How would I enable Gnome 3 on it?

Thanks
  #13  
Old 9th December 2010, 09:24 PM
hellnest Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
linuxfirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

I Guess it's enabled by default. Or maybe you must invoke the command from command shell
  #14  
Old 9th December 2010, 09:34 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,204
linuxfirefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

yeah, it should be enabled by default, but if not, try installing desktop-effects (if it's not there already) and select GNOME Shell from that.
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #15  
Old 9th December 2010, 09:53 PM
tox
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
windows_7firefox
Re: Is anyone running Gnome 3 and Gnome Shell in rawhide

Quote:
Originally Posted by simpleblue View Post
I've just downloaded the Fedora Nightly Compose. How would I enable Gnome 3 on it?

Thanks
if you need or want the opensource 3D drivers just login to terminal an do a

Code:
yum list mesa*
and choose to install the Experimental driver

---------- Post added at 08:53 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:52 AM ----------

then you can launch the Gnome-shell from Desktop-effects
 

Tags
gnome, rawhide, running, shell

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GNOME problem: Failed to start GNOME Shell. Reverting to previous settings. piopio Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 12 21st November 2010 08:00 AM
New gnome-shell git snapshot in rawhide Demz Fedora 13 Development Branch 1 14th January 2010 12:19 AM
GNOME Shell - Preview of GNOME 3 - Accelerated 3D graphics is not available flokip Fedora 12 Alpha, Beta & Release Candidates 14 29th October 2009 06:21 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:55 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Huimanguillo Instagram Photos - Veinticinco de Mayo Travel Photos on Instagram - Novoshakhtinsk Photos on Instagram