Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 3rd December 2010, 03:49 PM
cinsevarg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 38
linuxfirefox
GRUB :: menu.lst :: GRUB starts in command line

Code:
grub-install -v
grub-install (GNU GRUB 0.97)
I loaded GRUB, and now when I reboot it goes straight into the 'grub>' command line.

Initially GRUB had the root as (hd0,2), whereas the boot is on (hd0,1)...(hd0,2) is my '/home' partition, and (hd0,1) is my '/' partition...
So on a bootup I ran...

Code:
root (hd0,1)
setup (hd0)
Now when I boot I still get the 'grub>' command line, but now the root is correct.

From 'grub>' I can type...
Code:
grub> configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst
GRUB will then show the menu, and I can click the listings to load them. All's fine, but why doesn't GRUB just load the menu.lst without my prompting?
How can I automate this process of typing 'configfile /boot/grub/menu.lst' each time I boot?

Last edited by cinsevarg; 3rd December 2010 at 04:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2010, 04:13 PM
scott32746 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Mary, Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 1,088
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: GRUB :: menu.lst :: GRUB starts in command line

Hello,

You can check what grub should use with

grub > find /grub/stage1

then run root and setup
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd December 2010, 05:44 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: GRUB :: menu.lst :: GRUB starts in command line

If it still doesn't work after that, then try booting on into Fedora with configfile again. Then open a terminal and re-install GRUB using the grub-install command.
Code:
su
grub-install /dev/sda
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd December 2010, 06:50 PM
cinsevarg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 38
linuxfirefox
Re: GRUB :: menu.lst :: GRUB starts in command line

Thanks scott32746, worked perfectly.

Seems silly, doesn't seem like I did anything... I just 'found' a file where I told it where it was?

What does the find() command actually do?

And how much customising can I do with this feature? Can I take all, or some, of the files out of the /boot/grub/ folder and place them anywhere? Like another partition, and simply have 'grub> find ' its way there?

---------- Post added at 06:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:45 PM ----------

NOTE :: As I was looking over your post again, I see that I did and didn't follow your instructions...

At the 'grub >' command I did use find, but I typed

Code:
grub > find /boot/grub/menu.lst
grub > root (hd0,1)
grub > setup (hd0)
grub > reboot
To get it working...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd December 2010, 07:21 PM
stoat Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 7,550
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: GRUB :: menu.lst :: GRUB starts in command line

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinsevarg

Seems silly, doesn't seem like I did anything... I just 'found' a file where I told it where it was?

What does the find() command actually do?
It finds a file. The result of the GRUB shell's find command is given as a drive and partition such as (hdx,y). It was suggested as a way to find a file known to be in the Fedora /boot/grub directory and thereby find its partition. Then you would have been able to try your GRUB shell commands again with the correct drive and partition numbers. You tried (hd0,1), and it failed to fix things. So the find command was suggested to settle the matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinsevarg

As I was looking over your post again, I see that I did and didn't follow your instructions...
When there is not a separate boot partition, then include /boot in paths in GRUB shell commands. When there is a separate boot partition, then don't include /boot in the paths of GRUB shell commands. The same thing applies to menu commands in grub.conf. You have established that you do not have a separate boot partition for Fedora.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cinsevarg

At the 'grub >' command I did use find, but I typed
Code:
grub > find /boot/grub/menu.lst
grub > root (hd0,1)
grub > setup (hd0)
grub > reboot
It's the same thing you tried the first time. Who would've thought that should be tried again?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boot, grub, grub command, menu.lst

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GRUB Command Line splattice Using Fedora 17 20th June 2009 03:18 PM
Booting to a GRUB command line ?? Focal Using Fedora 6 27th November 2006 07:25 AM
grub only a command line now after fc3 to fc5 storlied EOL (End Of Life) Versions 9 22nd March 2006 11:25 AM
Can only get into command line from Grub (cannot load into gui) Sasanf Hardware & Laptops 4 3rd March 2006 08:49 PM


Current GMT-time: 17:10 (Saturday, 19-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat