Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 20th December 2010, 09:58 AM
vwyodapink Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
linuxfedorafirefox
Bash question - Fedora 14 KDE runlevel related

I am trying to write a script I am on Fedora 14 KDE spin. What I want to be able to do is start a bash script in a normal desktop environment have it do something things then have it drop to runlevel. But not needing to log back in, such as with commands like "init 3, telinit 3, kdminit4_shutdown" require you to log in when the script is running then once you do the script is no longer running any more. So I need it to switch to runlevel 3 then install a driver then once thats done switch back to runlevel 5 again not having to worry about logging in and having the script continue running still and finish up from there. Everything I have tried not only kills the script but also make you have to log in on every switch.

Thanks for any help on this if you need to see the script I can post that part
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22nd December 2010, 09:25 AM
stevea Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,696
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Bash question - Fedora 14 KDE runlevel related

That is an odd requirement, so it leads me to ask questions. Why do you want to drop runlevels to install a driver .... is this a video driver ?

If you use" nohup" command you can allow the script to continue after your X session is terminated. That mean you can probably telinit 3; modprobe sondriver; telinit 5".

You cannot easily get the KDE session restarted without a login. You might use autologin if that is appropriate. You could "su someuser; startx ..." to create the X session.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th December 2010, 10:31 AM
vwyodapink Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Bash question - Fedora 14 KDE runlevel related

yes it is for a video driver. I am just trying to put the whole thing in a script for quick setup, I have everything working but the video driver. Thanks for the info though gives me something to play around with.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bash, init 3, kde, no login, runlevel

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Voting Question (not related to GOP/Dem) A2Core Wibble 1 27th October 2008 01:43 AM
Runlevel 1 & user/password question BlownCPU Security and Privacy 3 7th June 2008 04:16 PM
Bad Mice Do Bad Things (runlevel question) type568 Using Fedora 1 22nd May 2008 04:59 AM
Non fedora related installation question (sorry if it is misplaced) Mr.Hulot Linux Chat 1 12th October 2005 07:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 07:39 (Wednesday, 23-07-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat