Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th January 2011, 06:58 AM
QuantumKnot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 248
linuxfedorafirefox
Transmission BT rebooting my ADSL modem

I seem to have this problem where every time I open Transmission, it reboots my ADSL modem. I've tried setting the maximum number of peers (globally and per torrent) to a very low number (10 and 5, respectively) but it still does it.

Any advice would be much appreciated.
__________________
QuantumKnot - originator of the "Verne" release name (possibly the last 'normal' release name) :)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th January 2011, 04:25 AM
QuantumKnot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 248
linuxfedorafirefox
Thumbs up Re: Transmission BT rebooting my ADSL modem

I deleted the ~/.config/transmission directory and now it seems to be ok. Seems easy enough.
__________________
QuantumKnot - originator of the "Verne" release name (possibly the last 'normal' release name) :)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th January 2011, 05:47 AM
QuantumKnot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 248
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transmission BT rebooting my ADSL modem

OK, looks like it didn't help. Every time I start Transmission, it goes and reboots my modem
__________________
QuantumKnot - originator of the "Verne" release name (possibly the last 'normal' release name) :)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th January 2011, 04:59 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transmission BT rebooting my ADSL modem

one thing you can try that will drastically cut down on router traffic and see if that fixes your problem...

In your transmission setting, disable DHT and PEX, also disable local peer discovery. (they are all check boxes on the Privacy tab, make sure they are unchecked)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th January 2011, 05:01 PM
jpollard Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,865
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transmission BT rebooting my ADSL modem

Sounds like a bug in the ADSL modem.

What vendor is that?
And can you ask for another?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th February 2011, 04:23 AM
QuantumKnot Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 248
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Transmission BT rebooting my ADSL modem

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpollard View Post
Sounds like a bug in the ADSL modem.

What vendor is that?
And can you ask for another?
My ADSL modem is a Siemens SpeedStream 4200. I've tried downgrading to Transmission in Fedora 13, since it never happened....see how it goes.
__________________
QuantumKnot - originator of the "Verne" release name (possibly the last 'normal' release name) :)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adsl, modem, rebooting, transmission

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB ADSL modem in FC5 siddharth1986 Hardware & Laptops 0 20th May 2006 04:37 PM
FC3 - modem not working after rebooting dusanv Hardware & Laptops 12 17th December 2004 03:00 AM


Current GMT-time: 15:08 (Thursday, 23-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Zamboanga Travel Photos - Nagcarlan Travel Photos - Puerto Berrio Photos on Instagram