Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 3rd February 2011, 11:34 PM
MrWho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Hello fellow Fedora users

My laptop is Fujitsu PA 1510. I am unable to record sound with my microphone. I can hear myself talking crystal clear through speakers and the input sliders move on sound preferences. But when I try to record something, my voice is really quiet and there is lots of distortion and buzzing.

Code:
#cat /proc/asound/*
cat: /proc/asound/card0: Is a directory
 0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xc0000000 irq 16
  1:        : sequencer
  2: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
  3: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
  4: [ 0- 6]: digital audio playback
  5: [ 0- 6]: digital audio capture
  6: [ 0- 1]: hardware dependent
  7: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
  8: [ 0]   : control
 33:        : timer
00-01: HDA Codec 1
00-00: HDA Codec 0
 0 snd_hda_intel
cat: /proc/asound/oss: Is a directory
00-00: ALC861 Analog : ALC861 Analog : playback 1 : capture 1
00-06: Si3054 Modem : Si3054 Modem : playback 1 : capture 1
cat: /proc/asound/SB: Is a directory
cat: /proc/asound/seq: Is a directory
G0: system timer : 1000.000us (10000000 ticks)
P0-0-0: PCM playback 0-0-0 : SLAVE
P0-0-1: PCM capture 0-0-1 : SLAVE
P0-6-0: PCM playback 0-6-0 : SLAVE
P0-6-1: PCM capture 0-6-1 : SLAVE
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.
Compiled on Feb  3 2011 for kernel 2.6.32.10-90.fc12.i686 (SMP).
Code:
#cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf 
options snd-hda-intel model=toshiba
options snd-hda-intel position_fix=1 enable=yes
Code:
#amixer -c 0
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback [on]
  Front Right: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
  Capabilities: pvolume penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 255
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 74 [29%] [-36.20dB]
  Front Right: Playback 74 [29%] [-36.20dB]
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 23
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-36.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-36.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Beep',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 15
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-45.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-45.00dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch penum
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 13
  Front Left: Capture 13 [100%] [33.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 13 [100%] [33.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Caller ID',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',0
  Capabilities: cenum
  Items: 'Mic' 'Front Mic' 'Line' 'CD' 'Mixer'
  Item0: 'Front Mic'
Simple mixer control 'Off-hook',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Any help or hints would be more than appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 4th February 2011, 12:42 AM
ozjd Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Age: 59
Posts: 2,365
linuxchrome
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Also check in pavucontrol (you may need to install it) for inputs muted or set very low.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th February 2011, 01:05 AM
MrWho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

pavucontrol, alsamix, gnome-volume-control... everything checked and double checked.

Also if someone's interested:
Code:
#uname -r
2.6.32.10-90.fc12.i686
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th February 2011, 05:18 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Moved to EOL (End Of Life) Versions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th February 2011, 09:56 AM
MrWho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Upgraded to 14 with preupgrade. Still having same problems.

Code:
uname -r
2.6.35.10-74.fc14.i686
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th February 2011, 10:05 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Did you think upgrading would fix it?, wrong you still have the old pulseaudio configs from F12.
Try looking for the new config files with the .rpmnew tag relevant to puleaudio.

also this config file is not part of fedora (it looks wrong to me,try deleting it) /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th February 2011, 11:36 AM
MrWho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

I created alsa-base.conf manually as it was suggested in some other threads with similar problems. It helped me get more sliders and an option to select which microphone port to use (although I only have one). Without it I can still hear myself from speakers but I'm unable to record anything (not even distorted and low sound).

I don't think any of these have to do with pulseaudio?
Code:
#find / -print | egrep "rpm(new|save)$"
find: `/home/mrwho/.gvfs': Permission denied
/etc/login.defs.rpmnew
/etc/pam.d/password-auth.rpmnew
/etc/pam.d/system-auth.rpmnew
/etc/ldap.conf.rpmsave
/etc/pki/nssdb/pkcs11.txt.rpmnew
/etc/ldap.conf.rpmnew
/etc/sudoers.rpmnew
/etc/ssh/ssh_config.rpmnew
/etc/nsswitch.conf.rpmnew
/etc/ntp.conf.rpmnew
/etc/pulse/daemon.conf.rpmsave
/etc/inittab.rpmnew
/etc/libuser.conf.rpmnew
Also, could you move this thread out of EOL-boards? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th February 2011, 02:29 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrWho View Post
Hello fellow Fedora users

My laptop is Fujitsu PA 1510. I am unable to record sound with my microphone. I can hear myself talking crystal clear through speakers and the input sliders move on sound preferences. But when I try to record something, my voice is really quiet and there is lots of distortion and buzzing.

Code:
#cat /proc/asound/*
cat: /proc/asound/card0: Is a directory
 0 [SB             ]: HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
                      HDA ATI SB at 0xc0000000 irq 16
  1:        : sequencer
  2: [ 0- 0]: digital audio playback
  3: [ 0- 0]: digital audio capture
  4: [ 0- 6]: digital audio playback
  5: [ 0- 6]: digital audio capture
  6: [ 0- 1]: hardware dependent
  7: [ 0- 0]: hardware dependent
  8: [ 0]   : control
 33:        : timer
00-01: HDA Codec 1
00-00: HDA Codec 0
 0 snd_hda_intel
cat: /proc/asound/oss: Is a directory
00-00: ALC861 Analog : ALC861 Analog : playback 1 : capture 1
00-06: Si3054 Modem : Si3054 Modem : playback 1 : capture 1
cat: /proc/asound/SB: Is a directory
cat: /proc/asound/seq: Is a directory
G0: system timer : 1000.000us (10000000 ticks)
P0-0-0: PCM playback 0-0-0 : SLAVE
P0-0-1: PCM capture 0-0-1 : SLAVE
P0-6-0: PCM playback 0-6-0 : SLAVE
P0-6-1: PCM capture 0-6-1 : SLAVE
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.24.
Compiled on Feb  3 2011 for kernel 2.6.32.10-90.fc12.i686 (SMP).
Code:
#cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa-base.conf 
options snd-hda-intel model=toshiba
options snd-hda-intel position_fix=1 enable=yes
Code:
#amixer -c 0
Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback [on]
  Front Right: Playback [on]
Simple mixer control 'PCM',0
  Capabilities: pvolume penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 255
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 74 [29%] [-36.20dB]
  Front Right: Playback 74 [29%] [-36.20dB]
Simple mixer control 'Mic',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 23
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-36.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-36.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Beep',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 15
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-45.00dB] [off]
  Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-45.00dB] [off]
Simple mixer control 'Capture',0
  Capabilities: cvolume cswitch penum
  Capture channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Capture 0 - 13
  Front Left: Capture 13 [100%] [33.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Capture 13 [100%] [33.00dB] [on]
Simple mixer control 'Caller ID',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',0
  Capabilities: cenum
  Items: 'Mic' 'Front Mic' 'Line' 'CD' 'Mixer'
  Item0: 'Front Mic'
Simple mixer control 'Off-hook',0
  Capabilities: pswitch pswitch-joined penum
  Playback channels: Mono
  Mono: Playback [off]
Any help or hints would be more than appreciated.
Code:
Simple mixer control 'Input Source',0
  Capabilities: cenum
  Items: 'Mic' 'Front Mic' 'Line' 'CD' 'Mixer'
  Item0: 'Front Mic'

Use aslamixer to toggle this from "Front Mic" to "Mic" then test it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th February 2011, 04:24 PM
MrWho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Front Mic and Mixer seems to be the only ones which work somehow.
'Mic'-slider changes how loud I hear myself through speakers live when I talk, has no impact on capture except with 'Mixer'-output.
'Capture'-slider changes capture volume. I have this at 100 but it's still very quiet.

Here's some samples what I can get out:
Front mic: http://up.servut.us/dl/28383
Line and mic give just give same static: http://up.servut.us/dl/28384
Mixer with "Mic"-slider set to 100: http://up.servut.us/dl/28385

I am also being able to record "Stereo Mix" or "What U hear" or whatever you like to call it. So for example I can record music playing from my media player but this doesn't capture my speech although I can hear it from my speakers.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th February 2011, 06:44 PM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

Have you tried any of these options


http://www.mjmwired.net/kernel/Docum...dio-Models.txt

Code:
	ALC861/660
	==========
	  3stack	3-jack
	  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF I/O
	  6stack-dig	6-jack with SPDIF I/O
	  3stack-660	3-jack (for ALC660)
	  uniwill-m31	Uniwill M31 laptop
	  toshiba	Toshiba laptop support
	  asus		Asus laptop support
	  asus-laptop	ASUS F2/F3 laptops
	  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
	
	ALC861VD/660VD
	==============
	  3stack	3-jack
	  3stack-dig	3-jack with SPDIF OUT
	  6stack-dig	6-jack with SPDIF OUT
	  3stack-660	3-jack (for ALC660VD)
	  3stack-660-digout 3-jack with SPDIF OUT (for ALC660VD)	  lenovo	Lenovo 3000 C200
	  dallas	Dallas laptops
	  hp		HP TX1000
	  asus-v1s	ASUS V1Sn
	  auto		auto-config reading BIOS (default)
I use this

Code:
[leigh@localhost ~]$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/sound.conf 
#options snd-hda-intel probe_mask=0x102
options snd-hda-intel model=6stack-dig
[leigh@localhost ~]$
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 6th February 2011, 03:02 PM
MrWho Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Unable to capture microphone with ALC861

I tried all those, but they just give a bit different options in alsamixer. No real effect on record quality. But...

I was finally able to make some progress following this guide:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic....814334#p814334

I can now record clear quality sound, but playback doesn't work while using jack. I'll try to fix that and look more into this.
I guess this thread is solved then. Thank you for your help leigh123linux!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
alc861, mic, microphone, noise, record

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sound card driver for realtek alc861 assalane Hardware & Laptops 0 29th July 2007 02:11 AM
Problem with HDA Intel Sound with Realtek ALC861-VD Bloomer510 Hardware & Laptops 1 12th June 2007 11:33 PM
unable to capture login screen jim Using Fedora 0 11th December 2005 09:41 PM
[SB Audigy 2 | 2.6.7-1.494.2.2smp] Unable to use a microphone Void Hardware & Laptops 7 5th April 2005 07:37 AM


Current GMT-time: 13:43 (Monday, 01-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat