Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 13th April 2011, 08:50 AM
paulez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Age: 26
Posts: 7
linuxiceweasel
Mobile Broadband

I have been using a HSDPA modem on Fedora 14 without any problem. However, in Fedora 15 Network Manager applet I cannot find where to configure the broadband connection.
I have only a menu entry "automatic broadband connection" in nm-applet. In network parameters, in "mobile broadband" submenu, I only get a "Options" button which doesn't do anything.
How can I configure my mobile connection, is it a bug ?

Thanks for your help !
  #2  
Old 13th April 2011, 12:12 PM
arowana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 140
macosfirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband

same here, last time i checked was BetaRC2, no options when you select mobile broadband, so i gently placed the ISO in my trashcan folder

---------- Post added at 01:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:19 PM ----------

oh no,wrong, it was BetaRC1 desktop 64bit

in RC2 i never reached the GDM login, so don´t know about the networkmanager in BetaRC2
  #3  
Old 13th April 2011, 04:03 PM
Japplo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 76
windows_vistafirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband

I have configured it with:

Code:
$ nm-connection-editor
  #4  
Old 14th April 2011, 09:09 AM
paulez Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: France
Age: 26
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband

Thanks Japplo, that was the configuration interface I was looking for. Obviously this interface cannot be found without knowing its command name ?
  #5  
Old 14th April 2011, 09:21 AM
arowana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 140
macosopera
Re: Mobile Broadband

So ... there is still network connections like in Gnome 2 but the icon does not appear in applications?!

Was searching for network manager options in the new shell panels network manager via network settings, as i figured Gnome 3 is the new way to go, strange!
  #6  
Old 14th April 2011, 02:12 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband

there are quite a lot of the applications that were shown on the Gnome2 menus that do not appear in the Gnome 3 applications, however if you remember the command to run then, most are still usable.
  #7  
Old 14th April 2011, 02:57 PM
arowana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 140
macosopera
Re: Mobile Broadband

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
there are quite a lot of the applications that were shown on the Gnome2 menus that do not appear in the Gnome 3 applications, however if you remember the command to run then, most are still usable.
You are right, saw it today when typing in the search form. Will install alacarte/main menu later and try if it still allows to show and hide icons per user preference.
  #8  
Old 14th April 2011, 06:21 PM
AdamW Offline
Fedora QA Community Monkey
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 4,176
linuxfirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband

if the GNOME 3 NM interface isn't working properly to configure mobile broadband connections please file a bug, it should not be necessary to fall back on nm-connection-editor for this (though it does make a good general purpose workaround for NM issues).
__________________
Adam Williamson | awilliam AT redhat DOT com
Fedora QA Community Monkey
IRC: adamw | Twitter: AdamW_Fedora | identi.ca: adamwfedora
http://www.happyassassin.net
  #9  
Old 14th April 2011, 08:51 PM
arowana Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 140
macosopera
Re: Mobile Broadband

Quote:
Originally Posted by AdamW View Post
if the GNOME 3 NM interface isn't working properly to configure mobile broadband connections please file a bug, it should not be necessary to fall back on nm-connection-editor for this (though it does make a good general purpose workaround for NM issues).
ATM the new NM does not work for mobile broadband (at least for me), might fill a bugreport tomorrow, depends on my time
  #10  
Old 22nd April 2011, 10:30 PM
David Batson Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,234
linuxfirefox
Re: Mobile Broadband

I also cannot connect to Mobile Broadband with F15, new laptop, and new Sierra Wireless 890 AirCard (ExpressCard).

I tried the command above and was able to add the configuration for my 890 AirCard, but it still will not connect. It appears that it is not being enumerated properly as per the Sierra Wireless Knowledgebase.

I have filed a bug report: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=699030
__________________
Fedora 19 Gnome on a ThinkPad X220, i5-2540M CPU, Intel HD Graphics 3000, Intel N 6205 wireless, and Sierra Wireless 754S Mobile Hotspot (AT&T)
 

Tags
broadband, mobile

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobile Broadband on F13 clanky Servers & Networking 47 26th December 2010 01:24 AM
Mobile Broadband on F14 denilugito Servers & Networking 0 13th December 2010 05:41 AM
Mobile Broadband Dongles trigpoint Servers & Networking 0 14th August 2010 01:13 PM
Mobile Broadband gambler Servers & Networking 0 26th June 2010 04:55 AM
mobile broadband in f12 rudra-b Servers & Networking 2 13th December 2009 10:46 AM


Current GMT-time: 04:31 (Saturday, 02-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat