Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 28th April 2011, 06:10 PM
mlblandf Offline

linuxfirefox
Samba causing system slow down

Hello,

I am currently running Fedora 14 on an x86_64 system that acts as a whole house server for named, dhcp, nfs, nis, htpp, samba, etc

My issue has existed for a few years and I am just now getting around to posting about it.

I have a simple samba configuration for sharing files to a windows VM on another box.

Here is the config:

[global]

workgroup = NERD
server string = Samba Server on NERD
security = user
hosts allow =192.168.1.
log file = /var/log/samba/%m.log
max log size = 50

passdb backend = smbpasswd

dns proxy = no

[homes]
comment = Home Directories
browseable = no
writable = yes

This seems to work well for extended periods of time without issues until I transfer some large files like DVD ISOs from the client to the server, or the server to the client. Once a large file has been transferred, then all remote access becomes painfully slow. NFS access, samba access, even ssh'ing into the server becomes painfully slow.

Rebooting the server clears up the issue.

Any suggestions on what might be wrong and/or how to go about debugging this issue?

Michael
Old 29th April 2011, 11:23 PM
Doug G Offline

windows_7firefox
Re: Samba causing system slow down

Are there any clues in the samba log files?
Old 4th May 2011, 01:48 AM
mlblandf Offline

linuxfirefox

Sorry for the delayed response. It was a few days before I was able to look at this again.

As my test, I added 5 movies to Itunes where the files live on the Linux machine running samba.

Then I sync'ed those movies to the ipad.

Now, the file server is completely sluggish.

I looked at the logs from the samba server. There are no entries or errors from today when I did the sync. The only messages are from when the client connected to the samba server yesterday.

Looking at top, there is still more than a gig of free memory and no swap being used.