Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 31st May 2011, 04:01 PM
dan sawyer Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 133
linuxfirefox
fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

vncserver fails to start with:

vncserver.service - LSB: start|stop|restart|try-restart|status|force-reload vncserver
Loaded: loaded (/etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver)
Active: failed since Tue, 31 May 2011 07:40:37 -0700; 12min ago
Process: 31934 ExecStart=/etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver start (code=exited, status=2/INVALIDARGUMENT)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/vncserver.service

/etc/sysconfig/vncserver:

VNCSERVERS="1:userid" (note: actual user account is placed in userid)
VNCSERVERARGS[1]="-geometry 1024x768 -depth 24"

/home/userid/.vnc/xstartup

#!/bin/sh

# Uncomment the following two lines for normal desktop:
unset SESSION_MANAGER
exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

[ -x /etc/vnc/xstartup ] && exec /etc/vnc/xstartup
[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
vncconfig -iconic &
xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
startx &

this config has worked for all previous releases, this is an upgrade to fc15

thanks - Dan
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 3rd June 2011, 05:24 PM
Cable Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
windows_7chrome
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

I have the exact same problem... though it worked from a fresh fc15 install, after installing some updates it didn't.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 8th June 2011, 04:22 AM
smackey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ, Usa
Posts: 11
windows_7firefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

I have the same exact problem. After a fresh install and a modification of /etc/sysconfig/vncservers vnc won't start with the following systemd status:

[root@server sysconfig]# systemctl status vncserver.service
vncserver.service - LSB: start|stop|restart|try-restart|status|force-reload vncserver
Loaded: loaded (/etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver)
Active: failed since Tue, 07 Jun 2011 23:10:07 -0400; 6s ago
Process: 5620 ExecStop=/etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver stop (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
Process: 8247 ExecStart=/etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver start (code=exited, status=2/INVALIDARGUMENT)
CGroup: name=systemd:/system/vncserver.service

Initially running yum remove tiger* and then re-installing tigervnc would solve the issue. Tonight, not even that is working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th June 2011, 04:51 AM
SpacialAnomaly Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
linuxfirefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

You might not have had the previous runs of vncserver cleaned up properly. Go to /tmp/.X11-unix and remove directories X[1-9]. Don't remove X0, that's your console session. Remember, that's dotX11-unix.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th June 2011, 04:58 AM
Doug G Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
windows_7firefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

I thought it was supposed to be VNCSERVERARGS[2], that's what's in my F14 /etc/sysconfig/vncservers file (and yes, my file name is vncservers not vncserver)
__________________
======
Doug G
======
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 9th June 2011, 01:38 PM
smackey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NJ, Usa
Posts: 11
windows_xp_2003firefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

I was finally able to get it to work. Here are the appropriate lines from my /etc/sysconfig/vncservers file:

VNCSERVERS="1:username"
VNCSERVERARGS[1]="-geometry 1100x900 -nolisten tcp -localhost"

After a fresh install, I had to use VNCSERVERS="2:username". Then, after a reboot that would not work. I updated vnc and it still would not work with VNCSERVERS="2:username". Then, after editing vncservers to use VNCSERVERS="1:username", it worked. I'm now thinking that something else was causing the issue. Some extra spaces somewhere perhaps? An extra line at the end of the file? I haven't had time to play with this. If I do, I'll post back.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th June 2011, 05:10 PM
andykoo Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
linuxfirefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

I looked at the script /etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver and it looks like it was looking for the arguments VNCUSER and VNCUSERARGS. After editing /etc/sysconfig/vncserver from VNCSERVERS to VNCUSERS and VNCSERVERARGS to VNCUSERARGS, I was able to reload the vncserver service without a problem.

Just my two cents ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th July 2011, 10:06 AM
badtrip Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

Hello,

I changed VNCSERVERS to VNCUSERS. Now it looks that:

VNCUSERS="1:username"
VNCUSERARGS[1]="-geometry 1400x830"

/etc/init.d/vncserver restart (now it works)

But still I cant connect, also at userhome dir there arent any log and pid files for vnc connections.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12th July 2011, 12:26 PM
mariney Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
windows_7ie
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

Quote:
Originally Posted by andykoo View Post
I looked at the script /etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver and it looks like it was looking for the arguments VNCUSER and VNCUSERARGS. After editing /etc/sysconfig/vncserver from VNCSERVERS to VNCUSERS and VNCSERVERARGS to VNCUSERARGS, I was able to reload the vncserver service without a problem.

Just my two cents ...
I can restart the service success . but I can not connect to the server
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th July 2011, 08:43 AM
badtrip Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7firefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

any solve for this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18th July 2011, 02:45 PM
warrell Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
linuxubuntufirefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

I made the suggested changes and now I get :-

ExecStart=/etc/rc.d/init.d/vncserver start (code=exited, status=6/NOTCONFIGURED)

What new configuration is required?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 21st July 2011, 04:14 AM
hungdm Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1
windows_xp_2003safari
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpacialAnomaly View Post
You might not have had the previous runs of vncserver cleaned up properly. Go to /tmp/.X11-unix and remove directories X[1-9]. Don't remove X0, that's your console session. Remember, that's dotX11-unix.
Thanks, this work for me.

After deleting some file as said, my vncserver now works.
In some case you may receive INVALID ARGUMENTS because of the user (not root) does not have ownership on their ~/.vnc/passwd, so that when starting vncserver, /etc/init.d/vncserver cannot read all required arguments.
Note: other user with valid argument still have valid vnc sessions to work.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 21st July 2011, 08:08 AM
metatron Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: www.metasdata.com
Posts: 414
windows_7chrome
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

Quote:
Originally Posted by badtrip View Post
any solve for this problem?
What happens when you try to connect? I'm having the same problem but I have a feeling it has something to do with my iptables. I don't have RH-Firewall-1-INPUT chain and I haven't found how to add that yet so I can add my rule for it. So you might want to start there.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29th July 2011, 03:57 PM
ShadowShu Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 4
windows_xp_2003chrome
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

Found something stupid that worked for me! Got to go into Remote Desktop and re-enable permissions (Allow users to view destktop, allow control of desktop etc). I was getting the server could not connect soon as I updated the Remote Desktop settings boom all fixed. Too bad I didnt check it before going through all the steps provided in this thread first.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24th April 2012, 09:47 PM
frahman76 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 1
macosfirefox
Re: fc15 vncserver error on start - INVALIDARGUMENT

Quote:
Originally Posted by mariney View Post
I can restart the service success . but I can not connect to the server
Thanx mariney.. because of your 2 cent.. i able to resolved my problem... thanx a lot..

---------- Post added at 04:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:44 AM ----------

mariney .. your two cent advice really solved my problem...

just edit the /etc/sysconfig/vncserver and change the
VNCSERVERS to VNCUSERS and VNCSERVERARGS to VNCUSERARGS

so u now able to restart.. stop.. or start back your vncserver service without any problem

Thx again to mariney
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
error, fc15, invalidargument, start, vncserver

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[SOLVED] FC15 preupgrade failue on java-1.5.0-gcj-javadoc-1.5.0.0-35.fc15.i686 gkasica Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 29th May 2011 12:18 PM
[SOLVED] Can't start kde with gdm-2.91.6-2.fc15 chepioq F16 Development 5 9th February 2011 07:27 AM
How to start VNCServer on FC4? cr4ck3r Servers & Networking 11 6th April 2006 01:54 PM
how do I start the vncserver service agenol Using Fedora 5 8th July 2005 02:20 AM


Current GMT-time: 08:05 (Friday, 18-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat