Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 3rd June 2011, 11:41 PM
Benzin Offline

windows_7firefox
Can i install fedora 15 withOUT the PAE kernel?

hello! im new to fedora (coming from ubuntu).
There are some reasons by wich i do not want to use the PAE kernel.
Rather than installing the non-PAE kernel and removing the PAE one (and related stuff like kmods) after fedora is allready installed, i rather do a fresh fedora 15 installation without the PAE kernel. so...
¿is there a way to force the fedora installed to install the non PAE kernel instead of the PAE one?
like passing some switch at boot when i boot the installation dvd? or maybe some setting i missed once the installer is running?

---------- Post added at 07:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:37 PM ----------

thank you for you rquick reply
So theres no way to do a non-PAE install. right? so what i have to do is...
after the installer finishes, i yum install the normal kernel (like you told me), but im not clear about the grub stuff, and how to force fedora NOT to install PAE kernels in the future (when it updates).

From another post here, i assume i have to do this (im borrowing info from that post)

"So far I read that I have to change the :

/etc/sysconfig/kernel
---------
# UPDATEDEFAULT specifies if new-kernel-pkg should make
# new kernels the default
UPDATEDEFAULT=yes

# DEFAULTKERNEL specifies the default kernel package type
DEFAULTKERNEL=kernel-PAE
--------

to DEFAULTKERNEL=kernel
"
then i asume that to tell grub to boot the nonPAE kernel i can go (in gnome) to Applications->other->boot manager application, and select the nonPAE kernel as the default.
Is this correct? will this acomplish the "make default kernel" step you mentioned?

thanks in advance

---------- Post added at 07:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:39 PM ----------

mhh, it seems i did something wrong and deleted the reply post from the other user????? (note to self:learn how to use this forum) my apologies