Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 7th June 2011, 01:00 AM
dysphorichermit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 35
windows_7firefox
Icecast

Anyone know how to configure icecast/ices-0? I've read the documentation on icecast.org and googled the topic extensively and I can't get the intro page to show up when I enter xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:8000 in my browser even though the error.log says the service is started. Anyone here use icecast? Thanks.
__________________
"I ask not for a lighter burden, but for broader shoulders."
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th June 2011, 05:11 AM
flyingfsck Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,836
linuxfirefox
Re: Icecast

OK, so the error log says it started, but if it crashes then that won't be in the log - dead men tell no tales.

What does 'ps -e' say?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th June 2011, 01:39 AM
dysphorichermit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 35
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Icecast

ps -e | grep icecast
24112 ? 00:00:00 icecast

The service doesn't appear to be failing but there is a bad request when I enter ipaddres:8000 in my browser. According to what I've read, it's ok to leave webroot in /usr/share/icecast/web and adminroot in /usr/share/icecast/admin. Is that accurate? Shouldn't webroot go in /var/www/html/whatevervirtualserver? If /usr/share/icecast is ok, what should the permissions be? Thanks.
__________________
"I ask not for a lighter burden, but for broader shoulders."
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th June 2011, 03:51 PM
CronoCloud Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 451
linuxfirefox
Re: Icecast

The icecast in the repos is configured via: /etc/icecast.xml

I've not actually used it with F15 yet, but it starts up fine, and the admin page loads. I can test it out later today.

Ron Rogers Jr. (CronoCloud)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th June 2011, 03:55 PM
dysphorichermit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 35
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Icecast

I was able to reach the page with the desired ip once I commented out the bind ip address: 127.0.0.1.

I'm still having problems with ices though.
__________________
"I ask not for a lighter burden, but for broader shoulders."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icecast

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MPD and Icecast agoela Using Fedora 2 24th October 2008 02:42 AM
icecast Parag Using Fedora 1 2nd May 2007 05:34 AM
Icecast Fear Using Fedora 0 15th June 2005 10:07 PM
Icecast and Shout Server sLydE Servers & Networking 5 23rd October 2004 10:30 PM


Current GMT-time: 11:27 (Saturday, 23-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat