Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 15th June 2011, 11:15 PM
sidebrnz Online

linuxfedorafirefox
Safely removing Gnome

I've been using Gnome for several years and haven't had any real problems with it. Now, however, I find the descriptions of what Gnome 3 and the Gnome Shell quite unsettling. That is, the Gnome devs have added a number of things I don't want, removed things I do want and made it impossible to configure Gnome 3 to work anywhere near what I want without adding unsupported third-party extensions. (Note: this is neither a complaint nor a flame; it's just a statement of my personal taste and any attempts to argue about it will be ignored.)

Currently, I have installed XFCE and am very happy with it on my two F14 boxes. I know that if and when I move to F15 (or F16 if 15 continues to be as problematic as it is so far) the upgrade will include Gnome 3, even though I don't use it. I'd like, therefore, to remove it but without removing any bits and pieces of it that are needed by whatever programs I'm using. What's the safest way to do this?
Registered Linux user #470359 and permanently recovered BOFH.

Any advice in this post is worth exactly what you paid for it.
Old 16th June 2011, 01:17 AM
stevea Online

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Safely removing Gnome

I'll suggest you use yumex, and select the 'groups' view. This is similar to the installer package selector.

The other alternative is
yum groupremove "GNOME Desktop Environment"
but the grouperase wants to yank some (bad) dependencies like avahi, emacs, wine.

I feel your pain.

---------- Post added at 08:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:17 PM ----------

I just tried this from a KVM F15 liveCD install. It *seems* that the yumex removal of Gnome Desktop removed something in systemd needed to get the KDE desktop up.

Doing a
yum groupinstall "KDE Software Compilation"
fixes the issue.

Last edited by stevea; 16th June 2011 at 12:19 AM.
Old 16th June 2011, 04:07 AM
sidebrnz Online