Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 13th July 2011, 07:50 PM
hokori Offline

linuxmintfirefox
Wireless do not want to turn on

Hi, I am new to Fedora, switched from 4 years Ubuntu use due to Unity, and thus also new to this forum but I hope that you can help me, so I later on can give back to the community.

My problem is that the Wireless in Network Manager refuse to go to "on", or to be more correct it goes to "on" for about a second and then back to "off". My computer which uses F15, a Lenovo B560 laptop, have a BCM4313 and the apparent reason is that after that I installed the broadcom-wl and run "su -c 'modprobe wl'" so did I get the response "FATAL: Driver not found". However, the earlier non-existing wireless button in the network manager had appeard after the installation, id est the broadcom-wl must have been in plase.

I am thankful for any idea about how to solve this problem and thanks on beforehand // hokori
Old 13th July 2011, 11:13 PM
mmyers1474 Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Wireless do not want to turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by hokori View Post
Hi, I am new to Fedora, switched from 4 years Ubuntu use due to Unity, and thus also new to this forum but I hope that you can help me, so I later on can give back to the community.

My problem is that the Wireless in Network Manager refuse to go to "on", or to be more correct it goes to "on" for about a second and then back to "off". My computer which uses F15, a Lenovo B560 laptop, have a BCM4313 and the apparent reason is that after that I installed the broadcom-wl and run "su -c 'modprobe wl'" so did I get the response "FATAL: Driver not found". However, the earlier non-existing wireless button in the network manager had appeard after the installation, id est the broadcom-wl must have been in plase.

I am thankful for any idea about how to solve this problem and thanks on beforehand // hokori