Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 14th August 2011, 03:31 PM
MNKyDeth Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Grand Rapids Michigan
Posts: 107
linuxopera
Audio + seperate X server

I have been giving Fedora another chance to become my main OS as I really do enjoy using it.
I am sure anyone could look at my older posts and realize I despise pulseaudio. But I figured I would really buckle down and see if I could make it work for me and my games.

My problem that I am experiencing is when I try to run games in a seperate Xserver.

xinit /home/mnkydeth/games/Amnesia/Launcher.bin64 -- :1

The above command works fine. I get graphics and can play the game. But, I get no audio at all. If I start the game without xinit and just do a /home/mnkydeth/games/Amnesia/Launcher.bin64 my audio works just fine. I have tested this with a few games.

Obviously I have tested it with Amnesia, I also tested Dungeons of Dagorath. http://mspencer.net/daggorath/dodpcp.html
I also tested Achron but that game is still in beta and eventually segfaults during startup.

Anyone that plays games in a seperate Xserver on fedora, do you experience the same issues? Is this a possible pulseaudio bug? When I change the settings in game to use normal alsa I still get no sound but I know alsa gets forced through pulse so....

I could just not use a seperate Xserver but I was also trying to experiment with it to see if I could figure out why some people are getting such low frames per second in some of there games in Fedora 15 compared to Fedora 14.

Any help or info would be appreciated on how to get audio to work in a seperate Xserver.
__________________
HTPC | C2Q 9450 | 4gig ram | NV GT 430 | 2x1.5T WD | PCP&C 610w
Desktop | I7 2600K | 16gig ram | GTX 580 | 2x60G & 2x240G ssd | X-FI Titanium | Seasonic 850w
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14th August 2011, 04:10 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,867
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Audio + seperate X server

Unless you allow the session initialization to run you will not get any audio.

When you do the "xinit /home/mnkydeth/games/Amnesia/Launcher.bin64 -- :1" you are telling xinit to run the "...Launcher.bin64" instead of the session initialization.

The "xinit -- :1" will run the session initialization, and you can run the game with audio.

This is because audio is not part of the X environment.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio, seperate, server

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VNC server with no audio eliashickman Using Fedora 0 25th February 2010 08:58 AM
SAMBA - When to set up a seperate Server sesproul Servers & Networking 1 13th May 2008 04:53 AM
audio server?? AutoC Servers & Networking 8 18th March 2008 05:40 PM
Seperate HDD for audio project files? havrelm1 Using Fedora 0 15th March 2007 04:38 PM
how to setup an audio (mp3) / video server kkempter Fedora Focus 1 31st August 2005 05:58 PM


Current GMT-time: 12:36 (Saturday, 25-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Cormano - Le Bouscat Photos on Instagram - Geesthacht Photos on Instagram