Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 29th August 2011, 09:37 PM
dkzerocool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Better Netbook Setup?

For the last year and a half, I have been using the KDE Netbook Desktop do to the fact that it fits well on small screens. The problem with the KDE Netbook desktop is that it does not fit well on slow machines. It uses a lot of resources, even when you turn off all desktop effects.

Now that Gnome Shell is finally done, I have decided to give that a try, mostly because I'm more of a GTK fan and not that much a QT fan. Even more with GTK3 which is just awsome. Gnome Shell is great on netbooks. But it has one problem. Even though the shell it self is great on small screens (Much better than KDE), windows are not. The KDE Netbook version has tree functions that makes it great.

1: Any program is by default launced maximized.
2: When maximized, the window does not display any border or top.
3: Window menues are routed throw globalMenu to be displayed on the panel.

Is there any way to do these 3 things in fedora/gnome? I know that Archlinux has a globalMenu in AUR that works with gnome shell and GTK-3.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30th August 2011, 09:49 AM
dkzerocool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
linuxfirefox
Re: Better Netbook Setup?

Well, played around with the default theme, and figured out how to remove the title bar. If others want to remove the titlebar from the window also, then here is how.

1: Open /usr/share/themes/Adwaita/metacity-1/metacity-theme-3.xml
2: Locate the element <frame_geometry name="max"
3: Set "has_title" to false
4: All the sub <distance elements should have the value "0" and the <border elements should have top and bottom set at "0", otherwise a tiny part of the title bar remains.

Note:
When doing this, remember that your close button is gone when maximized. But, gnome shell already includes a close option in the panel for focused windows.

Now, if anyone knows how to fix the global menu to make it work with gnome shell, please let me know.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
netbook, setup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The End of the Netbook pythagorean Wibble 25 26th January 2011 06:38 AM
Have anybody tried this little netbook? joe.pelayo Wibble 6 22nd June 2010 09:42 AM
Netbook? MonthOLDpickle Hardware & Laptops 6 23rd April 2010 04:47 AM
Netbook dmyersturnbull Wibble 15 7th November 2009 11:44 AM
So have you got a Netbook? kona0197 Wibble 61 4th December 2008 05:23 AM


Current GMT-time: 05:59 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Bandar Bintulu Photos - Shanghai Travel Photos - Navia de Suarna Travel Photos