Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center

Go Back   FedoraForum.org > Fedora 19/20 > Using Fedora
FedoraForum Search

Forgot Password? Join Us!

Using Fedora General support for current versions. Ask questions about Fedora and it's software that do not belong in any other forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th September 2011, 06:38 AM
kiki2009 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 16
linuxchrome
Question how to add startup to application on fedora 15

kindly help me how to add start up for the JDownloader on fedora 15
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th September 2011, 01:15 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,291
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Hi Kiki

This might help:
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=147412

Or if you're more into scripts, this is the hardcore version
http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=85120

Hope this helps
Cheerio

---------- Post added at 12:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:42 AM ----------
EDIT:
Gnome-Session-Manager should do the trick.
Just add jdownload to it.

Hmm to test what i just posted i tried this:
I cannot add anything to "lxsession-edit", dont know if gnome session handler can.

So i tried:
sudo gedit /etc/rc.d/rc.local

And added these lines
Quote:
# sea's additions
/usr/bin/lxterminal --display=1
/usr/bin/firefox --display=2
/usr/bin/evolution --display=2
/usr/bin/rhythmbox --display=3
Sadly this doesnt work at all
Actualy, my lxpanel has some graphic bugs by now..
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot

Last edited by sea; 5th September 2011 at 04:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th September 2011, 03:26 PM
spiketailz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: India
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Thumbs up Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
Hi Kiki

Sadly this doesnt work at all
Actualy, my lxpanel has some graphic bugs by now..
No worries. Try appending it to you login profile. Once you logged in, the program will start automatically. Give a try.
__________________
Regards, Spike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]___________________________________________

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere -Einstein
__________________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th September 2011, 03:37 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,291
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Tested: ~/.bash_login
Content:
Quote:
# ~/.bash_login
echo test
zenity --entry
/usr/bin/lxterminal --display=1
/usr/bin/firefox --display=Internet
/usr/bin/evolution --display=2
/usr/bin/rhythmbox --display=3
Result: nothing happens

Tested: /etc/profile.d/myscript.sh
Content:
Quote:
#!/bin/bash
echo test
zenity --entry
/usr/bin/lxterminal --display=1
/usr/bin/firefox --display=Internet
/usr/bin/evolution --display="2"
/usr/bin/rhythmbox --display="BG"
Result: Is executed on EVERY new terminal

Further, /etc/profile.d/myscript.sh produces these errors:
Quote:
test
zenity

(lxterminal:4714): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: 1
Error: cannot open display: Internet
Cannot open display: 2
Cannot open display: BG
Run '/usr/bin/rhythmbox --help' to see a full list of available command line options.
Conclusion:
sudo echo "/usr/bin/filetoexecute --arguments" >> etc/profile.d/myscript.sh
Will work, but also executes them with every new terminal, which i dont think is the desired result of the OP.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot

Last edited by sea; 5th September 2011 at 03:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2011, 03:45 PM
spiketailz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: India
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Try the below steps.

#1. login to your home directory, find file '.bashrc'. Append the command with obsolete path following with '&',

error finding: Still if you have problem, share me the output of this command ' echo $DISPLAY'

example:

$ echo $DISPLAY
:0.0
$

Note: You should get the display as :0.0 // should find two numerals.
__________________
Regards, Spike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]___________________________________________

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere -Einstein
__________________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2011, 03:56 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,291
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Quote:
[simon@localhost ~]$ echo $DISPLAY
:0
obsolete? Do you mean absolute path?
so like: /usr/bin/firefox & ?

~/.bashrc
testing now.. /usr/bin/lxterminal --display=:0.1 &
results: (lxterminal:5537): Gtk-WARNING **: cannot open display: :0.1
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot

Last edited by sea; 5th September 2011 at 03:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:00 PM
spiketailz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: India
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by sea View Post
obsolete? Do you mean absolute path?
so like: /usr/bin/firefox & ?

testing now
Yep. Full path is the absolute path. You display is wrong. Export display as give below. And append it to .bashrc.

How to export display variable?
Ans: export DISPLAY=:0.0
__________________
Regards, Spike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]___________________________________________

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere -Einstein
__________________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:02 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

to get it to run when you login to lxde, you need to create a *.desktop file in ~/.config/autostart

There should be some .desktop files already there you can use for a template.

For example (bare minimum) to start firefox

Code:
[Desktop Entry] 

Type=Application

Exec=firefox

Last edited by DBelton; 5th September 2011 at 04:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:06 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,291
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Yea uhm.. Display is the virtual desktop right?
Just to be sure.
--

Quote:
Cannot open display: :0.2
Cannot open display: :0.3
Run '/usr/bin/rhythmbox --help' to see a full list of available command line options.
[simon@localhost ~]$ Error: cannot open display: :0.2
Now, on login nothing happens, on terminal start, it sais the already mentioned error message, and doesnt continue until i press ctrl+c

AHAHA Thank you DBelton!
Thats somewhat easier!

EDIT: after pressing ctrl+c it looks like:
[1] Exit 1 /usr/bin/firefox --display=:0.2
[2]- Exit 1 /usr/bin/evolution --display=:0.2
[3]+ Exit 1 /usr/bin/rhythmbox --display=:0.3
I'd still like to get some apps on certain 'desktops', you know, those you access by ctrl+alt+ARROW.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot

Last edited by sea; 5th September 2011 at 04:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:12 PM
spiketailz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: India
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

okay. Revert back the display. If you are trying to run rhythmbox. The correct parameter is "rhythmbox %U"
__________________
Regards, Spike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]___________________________________________

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere -Einstein
__________________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:13 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

BTW.. your .bashrc file is only executed on starting a non-login shell. bash_profile is executed on starting a login shell.

So, say, you’d like to print some lengthy diagnostic information about your machine each time you login (load average, memory usage, current users, etc). You only want to see it on login, so you only want to place this in your .bash_profile. If you put it in your .bashrc, you’d see it every time you open a new terminal window.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:16 PM
spiketailz Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: India
Posts: 18
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
BTW.. your .bashrc file is only executed on starting a non-login shell. bash_profile is executed on starting a login shell.

So, say, you’d like to print some lengthy diagnostic information about your machine each time you login (load average, memory usage, current users, etc). You only want to see it on login, so you only want to place this in your .bash_profile. If you put it in your .bashrc, you’d see it every time you open a new terminal window.
Yes you are right. i.e when you try to open one more 'gnome-terminal' a new process is forked.
__________________
Regards, Spike

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]___________________________________________

Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere -Einstein
__________________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:21 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

the problem with putting gnome or lxde startup applications in bash_profile is that it tries to run them before gnome or lxde is running. If you put them in bashrc, then it won't run when gnoe or lxde starts, but will run every time you open a terminal window
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:21 PM
sea Online
"Shells" (of a sub world)
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Confoederatio Helvetica (Swissh)
Age: 34
Posts: 3,291
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

Hmm guess thats a LXDE issue..

Content of: ~/.bash_login
# ~/.bash_login
zenity --entry

On login, i dont get a zenity dialog.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
the problem with putting gnome or lxde startup applications in bash_profile is that it tries to run them before gnome or lxde is running. If you put them in bashrc, then it won't run when gnoe or lxde starts, but will run every time you open a terminal window
Ok, so i could try to execute a script from bash_login, and that other script starts with a sleep 10 or something.
__________________
Laptop: Toshiba satellite p50-a-11 CPU: Intel i7 8*2400 MHz GPU: GeForce GT 745M RAM: 8192 MB Distro: Fedora (Rawhide) DE: Awesome
Text User Interface (TUI) // Windows 8+ & Fedora 20+ Dualboot
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:31 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,320
linuxfirefox
Re: how to add startup to application on fedora 15

the thing to remember is that bash_profile is run before bash returns the initial command prompt. So anything you put in there will be executed as soon as bash starts.

If you start a script, then it will wait until that script ends to continue with the login, unless you start the script in a sub-shell and fork a new process.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
add, application, fedora, startup

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup application is no longer run... NickKnight Using Fedora 2 2nd October 2010 02:19 PM
Remove application from startup in fedora 12 tonan Using Fedora 3 21st February 2010 01:45 PM
Add a startup application in Fedora 11 from terminal Caleb Burns Using Fedora 2 26th July 2009 02:52 AM
application is startup jani1982 Using Fedora 2 9th April 2008 09:08 AM
Startup application bannyrock Using Fedora 2 13th March 2006 05:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 17:10 (Wednesday, 27-08-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat