Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:48 PM
Adunaic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, UK
Posts: 907
linuxfirefox
Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

Hi,

I get the following output from df.

Code:
Filesystem            Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                 20G   15G  4.7G  76% /
udev                  2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /dev
tmpfs                 2.0G  412K  2.0G   1% /dev/shm
tmpfs                 2.0G  800K  2.0G   1% /run
/dev/sda3              20G   15G  4.7G  76% /
tmpfs                 2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /sys/fs/cgroup
tmpfs                 2.0G     0  2.0G   0% /media
/dev/sda6             396G  4.0G  372G   2% /mnt/media
/dev/sda3              20G   15G  4.7G  76% /tmp
/dev/sda3              20G   15G  4.7G  76% /var/tmp
/dev/sda3              20G   15G  4.7G  76% /home
Which confuses me. I do not know what is going on. There seems to be a lot of duplication and I am confused about this.

The contents of /etc/fstab is:

Code:
UUID=8ce17071-2ef1-42c8-806b-6669a3eee431 /                       ext4    defaults        1 1
UUID=a813709b-8e01-4bd8-8d16-4e91ebcc9d6a /mnt/media              ext4    defaults        1 2
UUID=1fbf40e6-ed62-4f42-94b4-b76629b6410c swap                    swap    defaults        0 0
tmpfs                   /dev/shm                tmpfs   defaults        0 0
devpts                  /dev/pts                devpts  gid=5,mode=620  0 0
sysfs                   /sys                    sysfs   defaults        0 0
proc                    /proc                   proc    defaults        0 0
any explanation?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:54 PM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

The duplicate listings of /dev/sda3 is due to sandbox.

See : http://blog.bodhizazen.net/linux/selinux-sandbox/

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=712093

I hope that is what you are asking about =)
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th September 2011, 04:58 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

systemd creates some of those mounts for you, like /run, /sys/fs/cgroup, /media. Those are tmpfs filesystems that it uses.

udev created /dev which is where it defines all of your devices.

If you don't have a separate /home partition, then it mounts /home as a regular folder in your / partition. (same with /tmp and /var/tmp)

Edit:

He doesn't seem to be getting the weird duplicate mounts that sandbox causes, so I don't think he's running sandbox. those /dev/sda3 mounts are the standard mounts for /, /home, /tmp, and /var/tmp. They are all /dev/sda3 because separate partitions weren't created for them.

Last edited by DBelton; 5th September 2011 at 05:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th September 2011, 05:06 PM
Adunaic Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lancaster, UK
Posts: 907
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

Thanks to you both. I am not conciously using sandbox (thus I do not think I am running it). I noticed in gparted it lists /dev/sda3 as being mounted to 4 mount points, / /home /tmp /var/tmp. Is this just a new way of doing things?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th September 2011, 05:13 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

well, F15 stuck the sandbox service in there on bootup for a lot of people without them knowing about it.

I think linux has always created the / and /home mount points if they are in the same partition and not specified in /etc/fstab, and I believe /tmp as well. I think /var/tmp was a result of the systemd change, but not certain. However, it's possible that this is all due to the systemd change as well. I have always created /home in a separate partition so I can't recall how it does for certain now.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th September 2011, 05:16 PM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

Quote:
Originally Posted by Adunaic View Post
Thanks to you both. I am not conciously using sandbox (thus I do not think I am running it). I noticed in gparted it lists /dev/sda3 as being mounted to 4 mount points, / /home /tmp /var/tmp. Is this just a new way of doing things?
As I said, those duplicates due to sandbox, which starts automatically.

If you wish, stop it and re-check

Code:
systemctl status sandbox.service

systemctl stop sandbox.service
If you wish you may disable sandbox, although I do not really see it as causing a problem, and you might want to try it before you disable it.

Code:
systemctl disable sandbox.service
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th September 2011, 05:55 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

just checked here, and you're correct, bodhi.zazen.

I was thinking that sandbox created the /tmp and /var/tmp mounts as tmpfs if they weren't already mounted, but was wrong.

I also found out that just stopping sandbox would not change his df output. They remain mounted even after stopping sandbox. You would have to either unmount them, or disable sandbox and reboot to get rid of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 5th September 2011, 06:05 PM
bodhi.zazen Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Montana
Posts: 731
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

Quote:
Originally Posted by DBelton View Post
I also found out that just stopping sandbox would not change his df output. They remain mounted even after stopping sandbox. You would have to either unmount them, or disable sandbox and reboot to get rid of them.
Thank you for that, I seemed to recall sandbox automatically unmounted them when it was stopped, but obviously have not tried recently.

Will include that info next time (this is a FAQ).
__________________
If it is not broken, tweak it... If you break Fedora you get to keep both pieces :p
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 5th September 2011, 06:15 PM
DBelton Offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7,318
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

This is a FAQ

This is a FAQ on drugs..

This is a FAQ running F15 :moon:

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 5th September 2011, 07:04 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,667
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

As a historical note - /var/tmp was created somewhere around 1985 when SunOS (then a BSD based system) was being reconfigured to allow diskless clients (what is now called "thin" clients). The root filesystem was a minimal filesystem (/etc, /lib, /sbin, and a very small /tmp) mounted over NFS. This root had the node specific configuration files. Once the root was booted, then /usr would be added - and this /usr was shared among all clients. To give reasonable log space, workspace, and other stuff - /var was mounted. /var/tmp was sometimes a symbolic link to /tmp, and /tmp was mounted. Each node had their own /var (and/or /tmp), but if /var/tmp was mounted, it sometimes was shared among all nodes. /home was also mounted, and usually shared among all, though when automounts were added, this did not exactly apply as only the users home directory was mounted on login, and others would be mounted (sometimes) when referenced.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 19th October 2011, 08:53 PM
edwinexil Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 12
linuxfirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

Is it known why sandbox services cause the duplicate issue?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th October 2011, 10:45 PM
jpollard Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Waldorf, Maryland
Posts: 6,667
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Fedora 15 - Gnome 3 - df output is odd

Yes. There are several threads on that such as:

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/archiv.../t-269319.html.

A general search of the forums for "disable sandbox" will show a lot more.

I believe the "why" is that each sandbox is implemented using bind mounts to reduce file duplication (ie for chroot sandboxes) and minimize the complexity of system updates not reaching everywhere a file needs to be updated. Easily a problem when multiple sandboxes are established.

Last edited by jpollard; 19th October 2011 at 10:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fedora, gnome, odd, output

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Copying lengthy program output from Gnome-terminal? kurtdriver Using Fedora 2 11th February 2009 02:32 AM
Sound output with the wrong box in gnome Pille456 Using Fedora 0 5th March 2008 02:51 PM
Strange output from gnome audio in FC6 install sossego Using Fedora 4 2nd July 2007 04:59 PM


Current GMT-time: 03:42 (Thursday, 24-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat