Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 14th October 2011, 06:28 AM
faijaii Offline

windows_7ie
New to programming and fedora - help!

hey, i'm a newbie at linux, and i wanted to learn how to program so i downloaded fedora. BUT I have not actually booted it onto my pc yet. is this a good OS to start progamming on? and if so why? is it because of the applications fedora has to offer? how does fedora and programming go together? what languages should I learn first? (sorry very new)
Old 14th October 2011, 07:22 AM
flyingfsck Online

linuxfirefox
Re: New to programming and feodra - help!

Howdy,

Welcome to the world of Free Open Source Software. One of the tenets of FOSS is to encourage people to learn programming.

With your Linux system, you not only get a machine that is usable for home entertainment, business and engineering, you also get a full development system. All the tools you need to study multiple languages are available Free and gratis and are in most cases trivial to install, be that C, Perl, Python, Java, Ada, Fortran, what have you. A Linux system is a veritable Rosetta Stone of computer languages and supports almost all computer languages - if you discover one that isn't, then you are free to add it!

So, don't be scared - dive right in - after making a proper backup of all your data on your machine of course...
Old 14th October 2011, 07:40 PM
Flounder Offline

linuxfirefox

Fedora or Linux in general for that matter is one of the best operating systems to learn how to program on. All of your tools on here are free, the libraries are open to your view, licenses are far less of a headache, the design of the system itself makes more sense than another well used operating system, and it is more fun in general on this platform. It is far more worth while than using Windows. If you want to get into specific distros, Fedora is a good choice because it uses some of the latest tools.
Old 15th October 2011, 10:06 AM
Fenrin Offline

linuxopera