Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 18th October 2011, 04:35 PM
mabool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 47
linuxfedorafirefox
problem with monitor resolution

Hello,

After installing the rpmfusion NVIDIA drivers on Fedora 14, I can't change my display resolution to anything higher than 640x480 because the driver doesn't seem to understand that my monitor is capable of higher resolutions.

Here is my xorg.conf:

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 280.11  (mockbuild@hephaestus.wilsonet.com)  Sun Jul 31 18:17:52 EDT 2011

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 280.11  (mockbuild@)  Sun Jul 31 17:57:41 EDT 2011
# RPM Fusion - nvidia-96xx-xorg.conf
# 

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Default Layout"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from data in "/etc/sysconfig/keyboard"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "keyboard"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "de"
    Option         "XkbModel" "pc105"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CRT-0"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option       "1152x1024"
    Option         "PreferredMode" "1152x1024"
    UseModes       "Modes[0]"
EndSection

Section "Modes"
Identifier "Modes[0]"
Modeline "1152x1024_60.00"   97.75  1152 1224 1344 1536  1024 1027 1037 1063 -hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce3 Ti 200"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Default Screen"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    Option         "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Modes      "nvidia-auto-select" "1280x1024" "1024x768"
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection
As you can see, I've tried to fix this with a modeline, but to no avail. xrandr isn't helpful either:

Code:
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 640 x 480, maximum 640 x 480
So I guess all I need to do is to somehow tell nvidia that my monitor is capable of displaying the resolution I want (1152x1024) ... but how would I do that?

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by mabool; 18th October 2011 at 05:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18th October 2011, 05:16 PM
stevea Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio, USA
Posts: 8,874
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

What does /var/log/Xorg.0.log say happened.
It obviously regected your xorg.config.


Frankly - so long as your screen supports EDID correctly , it's a bad idea to manually override it in xorg.conf.
I'd get rid of the screen section.
__________________
None are more hopelessly enslaved than those who falsely believe they are free.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18th October 2011, 05:32 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,163
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

The Nvidia GeForce3 Ti 200 chipset is only supported by the Nvidia 96xx drivers. Is that the driver version you installed?
Stick this into your browser url bar: file:///usr/share/doc/NVIDIA_GLX-1.0/html/supportedchips.html

Last edited by PabloTwo; 18th October 2011 at 05:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18th October 2011, 05:37 PM
mabool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 47
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

I've attached my Xorg.0.log.

I'm pretty sure this screen does not support EDID, it's an ancient CRT monitor.

@PabloTwo: This is the 96xx driver I'm using... the card is supported.
Attached Files
File Type: log Xorg.0.log (16.2 KB, 50 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18th October 2011, 05:43 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,163
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

Ok on the 96xx driver being installed. I do see conflicting resolution modes in your xorg.conf file though.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18th October 2011, 06:00 PM
mabool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 47
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

so what should I change?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18th October 2011, 06:09 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,163
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

Well, if it were me, I'd rename my current xorg.conf file to something like xorg.conf~, then, as root, run the nvidia-settings app again, first selecting your monitor type and then selecting your preferred resolution from the available choices. Save the settings ("Save to X Configuration File"), close the nvidia-settings app and then log out and back in.

That will generate a new xorg.conf file, without one section saying to use one resolution while another section says to use another resolution.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18th October 2011, 09:52 PM
mabool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 47
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

Done. Nothing has changed, though.

When I go to nvidia-settings, I still only have 640x480 and 320x240 to choose from.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18th October 2011, 10:03 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,163
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

Within the nvidia-settings application, in the "X Server Display Configuration" section is where you select your monitor type. If you don't see your specific monitor model in the "Model:" drop down, then select a generic one that closely matches your monitor. Once you've done that, then you should be able to select a resolution in the same configuration dialog window.

I don't know about the 96xx version of nvidia-settings, but in mine (275.09.07) there is also a button "Detect Displays" in the same configuration window.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th October 2011, 10:10 PM
PabloTwo Online
"Registered User" T-Shirt Winner
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Seville, FL
Posts: 6,163
linuxfirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

You should be looking at something close to this:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nvidia-settings.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	91.0 KB
ID:	21890  
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18th October 2011, 10:45 PM
mwesten Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 172
linuxmintfirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

The log file says that the EDID is not working, so it will be using the settings in xorg.conf.
You currently have the HorizSync set to 28-33 kHz, but 53.7kHz is needed for 1152x864@60Hz.
So, if the monitor can handle that clock rate, the HorizSync line should be changed.
Check the monitor specs for the correct values, update the HorizSync line with them, and all the supported modes should show up.
FYI - I've heard that really old CRTs can be damaged if this is set too high, so watch out for that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 19th October 2011, 07:27 PM
mabool Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 47
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: problem with monitor resolution

Hey, that worked! Thank you very much! This thread is over
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
monitor, problem, resolution

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolution problem after installing 19" monitor hvniekerk Using Fedora 5 19th August 2011 05:56 PM
Problem with monitor resolution in Fedora 14 ingesis Hardware & Laptops 12 2nd August 2011 07:12 PM
problem with graphic card or monitor resolution meshkin2 Using Fedora 1 3rd January 2010 04:08 PM
Problem changing monitor resolution. bob_in_edgewate Hardware & Laptops 0 1st December 2008 12:10 AM
Monitor Resolution Problem ramaswamyps Installation, Upgrades and Live Media 1 8th August 2005 08:59 AM


Current GMT-time: 02:21 (Thursday, 02-10-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat