Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 2nd November 2011, 04:17 AM
chrismurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 969
macoschrome
Unhappy avahi problem

Somewhere in the forums, I can't find the thread, there is a long standing problem introduced in Fedora 15 that I don't think anyone filed a bug on because I can't find it in the bugzilla, but Avahi after a certain period of time just won't resolve anything, at least with ssh.

For example:
Code:
ssh chris@f16.local
within the first few minutes of a reboot or restart of avahi-daemon does resolve and I can login. At some later point, not sure how long it takes but it's less than 5 minutes but not much less than 5 minutes, I get:
Code:
ssh: Could not resolve hostname f16.local: nodename nor servname provided, or not known
This is a bidirectional problem, so it happens on remote machines trying to connect to the Fedora machine, or from the Fedora machine to other hosts. If I restart avahi:

Code:
systemctl restart avahi-daemon.service
The problem is temporarily resolved, again for a few minutes. But I'm not finding anything in messages or dmesg to indicate what the cause is. Getting a status on avahi-daemon is unrevealing, it claims it's running and active, but nothing resolves.

Last edited by chrismurphy; 2nd November 2011 at 04:25 AM.
  #2  
Old 4th November 2011, 02:50 AM
chrismurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 969
macoschrome
Re: avahi problem

Before I start working on filing a bug it would be nice if someone can confirm/deny they are having this problem also. In the meantime I will see about cleanly installing RC5 and trying to reproduce it, but this is the same problem I've had with F15 even with firewall turned off. I have not played around with SELinux though, but seems to me that there wouldn't be a ~3 minute period of correct functionality and then nothing if it were an SELinux issue.
  #3  
Old 4th November 2011, 10:12 PM
chrismurphy Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 969
macoschrome
Re: avahi problem

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=444427

This is completely fakaked in my opinion. There isn't even a default entry in Firewall for Avahi. So by default Avahi is enabled, and by default it's blocked 3 minutes later once the firewall finally fully materializes and blocks the port. I think this is a silly bug.

---------- Post added at 03:12 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:00 PM ----------

Solution in the meantime is to go to the Firewall application, find in Trusted Services "Multicast DNS (mDNS)" check it and apply the change.

Last edited by chrismurphy; 4th November 2011 at 10:11 PM.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
avahi ok 2 out of 3 barf Servers & Networking 0 26th June 2008 03:41 AM
avahi.i386 conflict with avahi.x86_64 saibaggins Using Fedora 6 30th November 2007 09:53 PM
anyone using avahi? mwette Using Fedora 6 6th June 2007 03:42 PM
avahi mvalcarcel Using Fedora 3 12th September 2006 07:13 PM


Current GMT-time: 01:49 (Friday, 25-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat