Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 1st November 2011, 10:33 AM
shanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Question adding patch for wireshark !!

hiii everybody

i am new to this forum.
i am relatively a newbie and working on ns-3.11 on fc 11 .i need to study the .pcap files which i generated, and for that i installed wireshark.1.3.2 but i need to patch it so that it can understand mesh packets.
Can someone tell me how it can be done..sorry not really good at it !!

thanks
Shashank
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 1st November 2011, 10:54 AM
glennzo Online
Un-Retired Administrator
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Salem, Mass USA
Age: 57
Posts: 14,714
linuxfirefox
Re: adding patch for wireshark !!

Moved o EOL (End Of Life) Versions.
__________________
Glenn
The Bassinator © ®

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Laptop: Toshiba Satellite / Intel Core 2 Duo 1.73 GHz / 2GB / 160GB / Intel Mobile 945GM/GMS/GME/943/940GML Integrated Graphics
Desktop: BioStar MCP6PB M2+ / AMD Phenom 9750 Quad Core / 4GB / 1TB SATA / 500GB SATA / EVGA GeForce 8400 GS 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd November 2011, 11:07 AM
shanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
doubts in ns-3 ,mesh networking 802.11s

hii
i have a few doubts and some confusion ,please be kind enough to guide me.i am using ns-3.11 and working on mesh networking using the code mesh.cc

1. i have read the ns-3 tutorial and from what i understand that an UdpEchoClient generates packets and sends them to a node on which an UdpEchoServer is installed.Properly configured UdpEchoServer will receive the packets and echo them back,from this i understand that on whichever node UdpEchoClient and UdpEchoServer are installed they are the source and sink respectively.Please correct me if i am wrong here.
In the code we write
ApplicationContainer serverApps = echoServer.Install (nodes.Get (1));
This means node with index number one becomes the sink??? So if we change it to something random like 5 then node5 in the topology becomes the sink??
and also please tell me how can i get to choose the source? i am confused about this part

2.When i run the simulation can i find out which route the packets travel in ?? to try and find out the route i gave the maximum number of packets as 1 in the code and ran the simulation ,but when i see the interface statistics on any of the nodes in the visualizer i see Tx and Rx packets as more than 1 .Why is this so?? Am i missing something here?? i checked the pcap files captured in the wireshark and for node0 between 0 to 1s there are transmissions taking place and thereafter only beacons are sent.i dont really understand how this works.Is it possible to find the route a packet follows?

if someone can please address these confusions and doubts of mine it would be of great help to me.
thanks a lot !!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd November 2011, 08:18 AM
shanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
help in my code !!

hii
i have the code for a mesh network and simulate using ns3.i am trying to get the flow monitor on the console so that i get information about the packets and through.i have made some changes in the code but i get certain errors like this

Waf: Entering directory `/home/cpu56/ns-allinone-3.11/ns-3.11/build'
[ 584/1186] cxx: scratch/mesh.cc -> build/debug/scratch/mesh_15.o
../scratch/mesh.cc: In member function ‘void MeshTest:onfigure(int, char**)’:
../scratch/mesh.cc:148: error: ‘myfilename’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:149: error: ‘datarate’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc: In function ‘int main(int, char**)’:
../scratch/mesh.cc:295: error: ‘myofile’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:295: error: ‘myfilename’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:297: error: ‘monitor’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:297: error: ‘m_totalTime’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:299: error: ‘flowmon’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:316: error: ‘m_xsize’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:316: error: ‘m_ysize’ was not declared in this scope
../scratch/mesh.cc:316: error: ‘m_packetSize’ was not declared in this scope
Waf: Leaving directory `/home/cpu56/ns-allinone-3.11/ns-3.11/build'
Build failed: -> task failed (err #1):
{task: cxx mesh.cc -> mesh_15.o}

i am attaching the mesh.cc file .if someone can help me point out the mistake it would be great.thanks
Attached Files
File Type: txt meshcode.txt (10.5 KB, 98 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd November 2011, 08:44 AM
leigh123linux
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
linuxfirefox
Re: help in my code !!

Threads merged
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 3rd November 2011, 09:42 AM
shanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: help in my code !!

hii can someone help me out with these issues i am facing..i am at a deadend right now,still trying to solve ,any help would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 3rd November 2011, 11:00 AM
shanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: help in my code !!

hiii
i've made certain changes in the script and now i do not get any
error ,compilation takes place but there is no sign of any
flowmon ,the .xml files are generated though.some one please take a
look at my script and help me out..Its a little important for my
project and i am racing against a deadline .thanks a lot
attaching the modified mesh.cc file
Attached Files
File Type: txt modified.txt (9.9 KB, 99 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th November 2011, 07:31 AM
shanky Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: help in my code !!

hiii i got my code running,
if someone can tell me how to add patch to wireshark it would be really helpful to me ..
thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
code

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
want code umesh kumar Servers & Networking 0 25th February 2011 11:12 AM
php code need mathan Programming & Packaging 3 15th July 2008 05:09 PM
CFS code rohitgupta14 Programming & Packaging 0 2nd October 2007 09:09 AM
code name? pcandpc Fedora Focus 4 3rd July 2006 02:46 AM
code.... faustozabdi Using Fedora 1 13th October 2005 07:52 AM


Current GMT-time: 16:09 (Sunday, 21-09-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat