Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #1  
Old 6th November 2011, 05:20 PM
fieldmonkey Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 5
linuxfirefox
Arrow Modifying firewalld for SSH and Telnet

I am having an issue running ssh and telnet over my WAN.on my home network. I can do both successfully, but if I reboot the server, firewalld takes over and blocks these ports (I'm assuming).

If I issue:

service firewalld stop


and reload the GUI firewall where I have the ports open, it corrects the issue. So my question is ... how can I incorporate the same concept into the firewalld using the commands lines AND keep it there for subsequent reboots without modification of the firewalld service?

fieldmonkey
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 7th November 2011, 01:13 AM
bfc0713 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Modifying firewalld for SSH and Telnet

In the olden days (ha ha), you'd just edit the iptables config file (maybe
in /etc/sysconfig/iptables ?) or run iptables-save -- but i'm not sure
if firewalld is implemented with iptables.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd February 2012, 02:13 PM
iiska Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 4
linuxfirefox
Re: Modifying firewalld for SSH and Telnet

SSH and Telnet can be enabled in FirewallD with commands:

Code:
firewall-cmd --enable --service=ssh
firewall-cmd --enable --port=23:tcp
However these won't persist over reboot in F16. According to Fedora wiki permanent FirewallD rules will be implemented at F17.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 8th October 2012, 09:58 AM
MotherDawg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 26
linuxfirefox
Re: Modifying firewalld for SSH and Telnet

Heads up!

http://forums.fedoraforum.org/showthread.php?t=280561

It works
__________________
MotherDawg
I own crappy boxes
I do RPMs -- CentOs & Fedora
I loose countless hours tweaking games that I barely play... just to see if the mod worked...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 8th October 2012, 11:34 AM
flyingfsck Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Al Ain, UAE
Posts: 1,946
linuxfirefox
Re: Modifying firewalld for SSH and Telnet

Uhmmm... If you have SSH then Telnet is redundant - and a security hole.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
firewalld, modifying, ssh, telnet

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Modifying BRU Mojoman Using Fedora 0 31st October 2008 08:57 PM
Modifying Places rshadarack Using Fedora 4 13th August 2008 11:44 PM
telnet port being used by xinetd after telnet removed exitbrooklyn Security and Privacy 1 16th July 2008 08:06 AM
Modifying fstab in fc6 surprie EOL (End Of Life) Versions 3 12th February 2007 10:12 PM
Modifying a poll... carbo18 Suggestions & Feedback 1 1st January 2005 10:12 AM


Current GMT-time: 01:03 (Thursday, 18-12-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat
Osowa, Gdansk, Poland Photos on Instagram - Disneyworld Photos on Instagram - Claire's On The Park Photos on Instagram - Dallas, Texas