Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
  #16  
Old 14th November 2011, 10:50 PM
ewa8949 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
windows_7chrome
Re: Tiger VNC server

I just ran a "yum update" today and it d/l a newer tigervnc. Now my service is auto starting just fine without the error's thrown.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 15th November 2011, 09:37 AM
powderhound Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Thanks for your reply

running the command produces the following:

[root@powder-app-01 ~]# systemctl enable vncserver.service
Failed to issue method call: No such file or directory

when I run systemctl --all

I see the following:

vncserver.service error inactive dead vncserver.service
vncserve...i-user.service loaded failed failed Remote desktop service (
xvncserver.service error inactive dead xvncserver.service
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15th November 2011, 12:09 PM
TimHall Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 1
linuxchrome
Re: Tiger VNC server

Hi.

Ran into this problem myself this morning. Fixed it and wrote a little how-to you might want to follow.

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/...ux.php#systemd

Cheers

Tim...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15th November 2011, 03:23 PM
powderhound Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 5
windows_7firefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Fantastic :-)
I knew I was missing something basic :-(

Thanks to everyone for their assistance

Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15th November 2011, 09:15 PM
jsh123 Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
linuxfirefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

While the Oracle solution works it then allows root access for the remote user which you probably do not want to do...

---------- Post added at 01:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:41 PM ----------

Never mind, added User to bottom of file takes the first one in which is root dooooh.

Works for me.

---------- Post added at 03:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:55 PM ----------

Give this a try it worked for me...

http://www.oracle-base.com/articles/...verOnLinux.php
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 15th November 2011, 10:30 PM
seabird Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Den Bosch, Netherlands
Posts: 282
linuxfirefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Ok, that works. It does mean I have to create the service 3 times for seperate users and then have to start stop them seperate. (may also have advantages).

Still think the old /etc/vncservers was easier
__________________
OS: Fedora 16
Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
Mainboard: ATX D2778
Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2nd December 2011, 08:08 PM
au_squirrel Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 21
windows_7firefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Also worked for me as well with only on minor change for FC16.

In the section to set the vnc passwords, the command is vncpasswd.

Nice work. Now to log the documentation update for Fedora

Thanks heaps.
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth Z77
Intel i5
8G Ram
FC 16 - Windows 7

Last edited by au_squirrel; 4th December 2011 at 04:56 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 15th December 2011, 04:52 AM
BrainFreeze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Park Valley, Utah
Posts: 6
windows_7opera
Unhappy Re: Tiger VNC server

I upgraded my production server (Centos 6) then installed tigervnc, worked great so I wanted to move my ARM envirment to linux (another box) so I downloaded Fedora 16 - KDE (I noticed that it was supported while configuring Centos), and installed.

Image my surprise when I went to edit vncserver!

After many hours of reading posts and screwing around I'll pass, when those that created this flying disaster get off the floor from laughing at the thought of the many that will waste countless man hours trying to make something work let us know.

You can let us know by showing us where to tell the server to get what type of desktop to be, mine now looks like X, NOT KDE, and that is when I can get the server to start.

Love the systemctl stuff, New is good but that means testing the packages with the new system and no, service start vncserver does not work.

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 18th December 2011, 11:32 AM
seabird Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Den Bosch, Netherlands
Posts: 282
windows_7ie
Re: Tiger VNC server

Has anyone found a good tutorial to set up tigervnc with xrandr in F16?
__________________
OS: Fedora 16
Casing: Chenbro RM21508B
Mainboard: ATX D2778
Processor: Intel Xeon W3550 (8 core)
Memory: 6Gb DDR3, ECC, 1333 MHz, PC3-10600
HD #1: OCZ Vertex 3 60Gb
Storage Drives: 4x 2Tb WD20EARS + 2x 2Tb WD20EARX
Graphics: Nvidia GeForce 210 Silent
PCI Card: Promise FastTrak TX4
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 22nd December 2011, 03:21 PM
BrainFreeze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Park Valley, Utah
Posts: 6
windows_7firefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Whatever you do DO NOT "yum -y erase tigervnc*" -- Your desktop will fail on reboot leaving you with only SSH access, I had to re-install the system.

With Centos 6.1 yum only removes 4 tiger* packages, on Fedora 16 it removes over a 100 megabytes of files including anaconda!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 23rd December 2011, 04:50 PM
BrainFreeze Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Park Valley, Utah
Posts: 6
windows_7firefox
Re: Tiger VNC server : Directions

After many tries and countless hours of enjoyment:

Setting up Fedora 16 / Tigervnc on a computer that can not run the default build
Install the KDE spin
Yum update
Login as root
I installed webmin with webmins repo, then the network group and the Postgres SQL server.

yum install tigervnc-server tigervnc-server-module
cp /lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.service /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@:1.service
nano /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@:1.service

Edit the [Service] Section adding your user name and screen #

[Service]
Type=forking
User=root
ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver :1 -geometry 1280x1024 -depth 16 -securitytypes=none -fp /usr/share/X11/fonts/misc
ExecStop=/usr/bin/vncserver -kill :1

Exit nano and save the file

systemctl enable vncserver@:1.service

Check if you have fonts loaded
ls /usr/share/X11/fonts/misc
If there are no fonts or you get a directory error
yum install xorg-x11-font*
Check if you have fonts loaded
ls /usr/share/X11/fonts/misc
You should see fonts now

Setup your directory and password
vncpasswd

Start the VNC server
systemctl start vncserver@:1.service

If you get
Dec 23 08:38:05 lbox vncserver[4563]: vncserver: geometry 1280X1024 is invalid

nano /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@:1.service
Edit the 1280X1024 and change the X to lower case x
Save the file and run
systemctl --system daemon-reload

If you get another fail message
grep vnc /var/log/messages

Install the client software and try to connect, if you don't get connected check the port settings
netstat -lnt | grep 590*

I started on 5902 from my Centos 6.1 install but now it is 5901 with this version
UPDATE: VNC listens on port 5900 plus the number of the display

My current Linux box is an Intel D856GLC mother board dated 2003 with an AGP video slot and built in graphics controller, the graphics controller is not supported by the default spin. The Gnome spin would start to load then tell me I had a drive failure, so I tried the Xfce spin with the same results and then the KDE spin, the KDE spin finished the install.

Update:
I did a yum update and after the reboot vncserver would not start:

grep vnc /var/log/messages

Dec 25 09:44:54 lbox vncserver[833]: Warning: lbox:1 is taken because of /tmp/.X11-unix/X1

the fix:
rm -f /tmp/.X11-unix/X1

Last edited by BrainFreeze; 25th December 2011 at 06:59 PM. Reason: Did a yum update then rebooted, vnc would not start
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 31st January 2012, 03:42 PM
smr54 Online
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,391
linuxopera
Re: Tiger VNC server

This is the sort of thing that makes me feel that whoever decides these things has little or no clue about administration . They put in a sample file with the wrong path to the server that will be installed if you install their preferred server.

Not sure how much of my aggravation is justified and how much is due to it being early in the morning, so I'll stop here.

---------- Post added at 10:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:58 AM ----------

Ah, Ok, got it figured now--why was I thinking vncserver was /sbin--anyway, whatever.

My way was simpler than some of the others, and seems to work--depending upon use, it's also less sophisticated, but in our case, we just need something that gives a graphical interface.
Code:
 cp /lib/systemd/system/vncserver@.server /etc/systemd/system/vncserver@:1.service
(The 1 can be whatever display you plan to use, 1 is pretty standard.)

Now, find the part in the newly created vncserver@:1.service, reading
Code:
[Service]
Type=forking
ExecStart=/sbin/runuser -l <USER> -c "/usr/bin/vncserver %i"
ExecStop=/sbin/runuser -l <USER> -c "/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i"
I suspect the runuser -l username and such might work, but rather than playing with it I just did--assuming user name is john

Code:
[Service]
Type=forking
User=john
ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver :1
ExecStop=/usr/bin/vncserver -kill :1
Next, set the password as user john.
Code:
su - john
vncpasswd
Go back to root, or using sudo
Code:
systemctl --system daemon-reload
Make sure it works

Code:
systemctl start vncserver@:1.service
(Or you should be able to use service vncserver@:1.service start, but might as well get used to the new way.)


(Much thanks to Brainfreeze, much of that is his, just simplified slightly, leaving out fonts and the like)

Last edited by smr54; 31st January 2012 at 04:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2nd February 2012, 02:29 AM
dave_c Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
linuxfirefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Thanks to the guidelines above, I successfully installed and configured the Tiger VNC server. I get a window containing my Fedora 16 desktop when I run vncviewer x.x.x.x:1 in a terminal window.

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to connect to the VNC server from another machine on the same network.

I opened port 5901 and verified that it is open with iptables --list |grep 5901, which gave

ACCEPT tcp -- anywhere anywhere state NEW tcp dpt:5901

I tried to connect to this VNC server using a Macbook using the builtin vnc client, but this failed with a "Connection failed to ..." error. I have used this vnc client to connect to other computers (but not one running Linux).

What can I do to enable connections to different machines on my local network?

***Update ***
I tried to connect to the vnc server using TightVNC on Windows 7 and it worked. I did nothing special to get this to work.

I'm still not sure why it didn't work using the Mac client, but my the ultimate goal of achieving a connection from Windows was achieved.

I ultimately want to be able to connect to a Windows 7 machine running TightVNC.

Thanks

Dave

Last edited by dave_c; 3rd February 2012 at 11:44 AM. Reason: problem resolved
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 9th May 2012, 06:16 AM
dysphorichermit Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 35
linuxfedorafirefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

Quote:
Originally Posted by smr54 View Post
Now, find the part in the newly created vncserver@:1.service, reading
Code:
[Service]
Type=forking
ExecStart=/sbin/runuser -l <USER> -c "/usr/bin/vncserver %i"
ExecStop=/sbin/runuser -l <USER> -c "/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i"
If I wanted to have more than one user with vnc access, how exactly would I add the 2nd user? Thanks.
__________________
"I ask not for a lighter burden, but for broader shoulders."
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 4th June 2012, 03:54 AM
MotherDawg Offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 26
linuxfirefox
Re: Tiger VNC server

First, big THANKS to everyone who hacked at this.

Second: for dysphorichermit : If you haven't figured it by now, users go under Service
[Service]
Type=forking
user=nameofuser-1 <<<================================
user=nameofuser-2 <<<================================
ExecStart=/s.......

Third, I Still can't connect... I'm a dumb kumquat... using the right user name would help! #-(

Oh well, it now connects but I got an error message that says Failed to load session "Gnome" !!! Apart from the Gdm related stuff, THERE IS NO Gnome on my box!!!
Messing some more at my xstartup I got it. Hurrah ! Got a remote desktop.
Ooops... my vnc log file is full of errors and I get a whole new session, not the one presently on the screen...

My vncserver@:1.service looks like this :
Code:
[Unit]
Description=Remote desktop service (VNC)
After=syslog.target network.target

[Service]
Type=forking
User=user-1
User=user-2
# Clean any existing files in /tmp/.X11-unix environment
ExecStartPre=/bin/sh -c '/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i > /dev/null 2>&1 || :'

# ExecStart=/sbin/runuser -l <USER> -c "/usr/bin/vncserver %i"
ExecStart=/usr/bin/vncserver :1 -geometry 1024x768 -depth 16 -securitytypes=none -fp /usr/share/X11/fonts/misc

# ExecStop=/sbin/runuser -l <USER> -c "/usr/bin/vncserver -kill %i"
ExecStop=/usr/bin/vncserver -kill :1

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target
My xstartup is :
Code:
vncconfig -iconic &
unset SESSION_MANAGER
# exec /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc

[ -r $HOME/.Xresources ] && xrdb $HOME/.Xresources
xsetroot -solid grey
# xterm -geometry 80x24+10+10 -ls -title "$VNCDESKTOP Desktop" &
# startxfce4 
# exec /bin/sh /etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc
/usr/bin/xfce4-session &
That way it works but it's a different session and the target box does not have much memory.

Here is my error filed log file:
Code:
(polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1:10916): polkit-gnome-1-WARNING **: Unable to determine the session we are in: No session for pid 10916
abrt-applet: dbus error: /bin/dbus-launch terminated abnormally without any error message
abrt-applet: Can't connect to session dbus
	
(xfce4-settings-helper:10926): xfce4-settings-helper-WARNING **: Failed to get the _NET_NUMBER_OF_DESKTOPS property.
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area
libpager-Message: Setting the pager rows returned false. Maybe the setting is not applied.

(nm-applet:10918): GdkPixbuf-CRITICAL **: gdk_pixbuf_scale_simple: assertion `dest_width > 0' failed
** Message: applet now embedded in the notification area
I'm pretty sure that I'm not starting it right in xstartup... can any one point me my failure(s) ?

Thanks in advance

Fourth, to try and give an answer to why this is now so freaking complicated... I have a guess:
Most of the original coders have retired to a well deserved pension, so all those green newbies having barely used a computer in school, except to play, have not a single clue about real life. So to justify their job, they "invent" what ever goes through their adolescent mind. (as in not thought through)

I understand that systemd is better than sysV but I feel its introduction was precipitated because it instantly renders all of our schooling and knowledge useless since it does pertains to the root of the system. All of my books... over a thousand dollars of them, all of my college years... they're all obsolete now.

Yes BrainFreeze, they must be rolling on the floor... why else would they do such garbage.
For me, Gnome did the same thing. I quit Gnome with the advent of version 3, like Linus Torval said: "Gnome 3 is crazy". All my boxes are now running Xfce but since LXdm was erratic, hanging and not giving me an login box, I do use Gdm.

THX to ALL.
__________________
MotherDawg
I own crappy boxes
I do RPMs -- CentOs & Fedora
I loose countless hours tweaking games that I barely play... just to see if the mod worked...

Last edited by MotherDawg; 4th June 2012 at 04:00 AM. Reason: wasn't long enough...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
server, tiger, vnc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tiger Warnings bootneck Security and Privacy 2 11th March 2011 10:08 AM
Maybe Tiger needs one of these.... SwampKracker Wibble 1 20th February 2010 05:47 AM
Tiger Direct JN4OldSchool Wibble 15 26th December 2008 03:06 AM
Samba server and os x tiger binderim Servers & Networking 1 26th March 2006 08:56 PM
so... mac osx 10.4 tiger :P Trendkill Wibble 2 10th May 2005 03:19 AM


Current GMT-time: 09:14 (Wednesday, 23-04-2014)

TopSubscribe to XML RSS for all Threads in all ForumsFedoraForumDotOrg Archive
logo

All trademarks, and forum posts in this site are property of their respective owner(s).
FedoraForum.org is privately owned and is not directly sponsored by the Fedora Project or Red Hat, Inc.

Privacy Policy | Term of Use | Posting Guidelines | Archive | Contact Us | Founding Members

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

FedoraForum is Powered by RedHat