Fedora Linux Support Community & Resources Center
Old 15th November 2011, 02:22 AM
HawkBoy Offline

linuxfirefox
What is wrong with pulseaudio in F16!?

==== Rant begin ====

Ok... a bit of a rant before I explode: WHY CAN'T FEDORA GET SOUND RIGHT?
It was fine 5 versions ago (it even worked perfectly with PA for a version or two), since then, it's NEVER been consistent... WTF? I'm a programmer myself. I appreciate the work these guys put into things and I've never worked on drivers, etc., but I have a lot of trouble believing it would take more than 2.5 years to get sound working when it was working to begin with. Why the hell is this thing still broken!?

sigh... I'm seriously considering mint right now. Like Torvalds said, I just want my OS to work, so I can do my own work. Tweaking things for hours every time is getting really old...

==== Rant end ====

Now then...
What is wrong with PA on f16? Sound (usually) doesn't work, phonon (I'm on KDE) can't seem to make sense of things, and I can't kill the pulseaudio server; "pulseaudio -k" kills it, but it seems to come right back (my speakers make a cracking noise and a new pulseaudio process is launched). Since I can't kill PA, I can't launch it with vvvv to see its debug output.

I looked at /var/log/messages but don't see anything too interesting.

Any thoughts? I'm getting really homicidal over here...
Old 26th January 2012, 02:04 PM
nils06 Offline

linuxfedorafirefox
Re: What is wrong with pulseaudio in F16!?

I'm afraid I have to agree. Linux is great, Fedora is great, sound on Fedora is not that great.